Niagara Gazette

Opinion

June 28, 2013

HAMILTON: Loss of Voter Rights Act is a reflective win

Niagara Gazette — When it comes to the reduction of the Voter Rights Act of 1965, some people just can’t won’t their victory trophy.

Buffalo preacher Darius Pridgen once spoke at a Niagara Falls MLK event on the subject of, “Are we there yet?” In other words, have we, African-Americans, reached the level of equality of which Martin L. King once spoke?

Even with New Yorkers electing blacks as mayors, countless numbers as state and other legislators, a state comptroller, a lieutenant governor who became governor, and a president, we are not yet quite there.

But we are close; we are only about six or seven inches away — and that is the distance between our own ears. Sadly, it is how we think about ourselves, and our own inability to recognize the signs of success.

Take the case of Georgia Democratic Congressman John Lewis, who claims to have spent his entire life working for the equality for all Americans.

When the Supreme Court ruled on stripping a key component of the Voter Rights Act, Lewis is quoted as saying, “I think what the court did today is stab the Voting Rights Act of 1965 in its very heart.”

But Mr. Lewis, weren’t you working to create the circumstances in which such a law would not be necessary?

Well, congratulations — you won. But if you believed in what you were doing, then the question should have always been, “When will America reach the plateau of Dr. King’s Mountaintop where affirmative action, including the Voter Rights Act, will be deemed completely unnecessary?”

Many of us didn’t recognize that inevitable. Five years ago, in a Niagara Gazette published column, I first asked the question if affirmative action would end with an Obama win. I got a lot of negative feedback with that one; but lo and behold, I’ll be doggone it, it did!

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page