Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 25, 2014

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: More than snow piling up this winter

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Meteorologists — You think YOU’RE cold? We haven’t been out of the house for so long, we’ll need GPS to locate the end of the driveway. How cold is it? Well, when the couple who walk the schnauzer every day went by the house on Monday, the lady was carrying the critter. Hope she had a waterproof parka.

The depth of the snow is tolerable, but we’re buried in newsprint. Abitibi Paper Co. has several of those yellow & green recycling bins — “paper retrievers” — nobly intended to raise funds for churches, schools and clubs. A Mainland church dropped out of the program when the collection trucks did more damage to the driveway than the papers were earning.

Over here, there’s been no such evidence for quite a while. Attracting newspapers and catalogues like cat hair, we’re major contributors, and swung by a church the other day to find its bin gushing papers into the wind.

It’s a small church, and perhaps understaffed, as its website hasn’t been updated since summer, so we suspected they just hadn’t gotten around to calling in, but then we found four others filled to the brim — so full that Doug was able to pluck from the top a discarded paperback romance, something with “Montana” in the title and a beaut on the cover.

Abitibi’s website urges retriever hosts to keep their areas plowed, but every one we checked was right down to the pavement, more circulars than snow. Abitibi needs to either pick up or get off the plot. Otherwise, we have to go back to tossing them into the trash. It’s just getting too crowded in here and we’ve done all the crossword puzzles.

On a less grouchy note, Doug gritted his chattering teeth and paid the property tax bill this week. It seemed a little less painful than previously. We checked with a very nice lady at Town Hall who confirmed that since the recent reassessment, which almost doubled our property value, the tax itself had gone down by about 10 percent. Lower taxes? Today? The underworld must have frozen over. No wonder it’s cold here.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Chronicling crime on the 'Island' Why is Rick Pfeiffer never around when you need him? The guy whose cubicle we shared during the Koop-Jasen-Rice era at Channel 4 now carefully chronicles criminals for the Gazette, notably those a few flakes short of Raisin Bran, but his crime wave is a mere ripple compared to ours.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The mirrors of my grandfather's fingernails What we do or don't do will have a greater impact upon our grandchildren's futures than what you might think.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page