Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 23, 2014

DELUCA: Painting is donated to help get a dog for Jack

Niagara Gazette — Some days I really love my job. Here’s the reason for my most recent surge of gratitude.  Last Thursday I got a phone call about the column I wrote on young Jack Schroeder.

The caller and his wife were touched by the story about the 9-year-old Ran- som- ville boy with autism and how his mom and dad have devoted their lives to watching over him to keep him safe and happy. The Schroeder’s lives were already challenged before they were given jolt of bad news last summer when Jack was diagnosed with Type 1 childhood diabetes. 

Jack is lively and loving, but he does not speak, and so there is inherent danger in diabetes as he cannot tell his parents when he’s feeling the most dangerous symptoms of his illness. I wrote about a social media campaign to raise the $18,000 needed to buy a diabetic-alert dog — a 3-month-old yellow lab puppy named Lucy, currently being trained in Texas. (www.adogforjack)

Early on the day the column ran, I got the call from the Niagara Falls couple who wanted to donate a painting to help buy Lucy for Jack. Yesterday I went out and met them. Ed and Jean live in a mobile home park in Niagara Falls and asked that their last name not be used. I’m obliging them, of course.

The retired couple were given the painting by Ed’s Aunt Mina, just before she died. Mina was a wealthy widow who lived on the east coast of Florida.  All she really knew about the painting was that it was purchased in Rome, Italy during World War II by her husband, Joseph, a military doctor, who went on to become a successful plastic surgeon. 

The painting depicts Madonna and child, — the Mother Mary and her son, Jesus. I think that’s especially touching, because at the crux of Jack’s story is his mom, Nicole, a part-time nurse and mother of two who is his activist, researcher and medical care giver. She is constantly calculating his needs so that he is peaceful and happy. To do that, she must always be on guard, carefully watching whatever he eats and compensating for his insulin levels with shots up to six times a day. Dad, Michael, is the “buddy” who helps keeps Jack’s spirits high, but mom, Nichole, stays very busy keeping Jack well.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Chronicling crime on the 'Island' Why is Rick Pfeiffer never around when you need him? The guy whose cubicle we shared during the Koop-Jasen-Rice era at Channel 4 now carefully chronicles criminals for the Gazette, notably those a few flakes short of Raisin Bran, but his crime wave is a mere ripple compared to ours.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The mirrors of my grandfather's fingernails What we do or don't do will have a greater impact upon our grandchildren's futures than what you might think.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge US Supports Ukraine's Efforts to Calm Tensions Suspect in Kansas Shootings Faces Murder Charges Ukraine: Military Recaptures Eastern Airport Raw: Storm Topples RVs Near Miss. Gulf Coast NASA Showcases Lunar Eclipse Pistorius Cries During Final Cross-Examination The Boston Marathon Bombing: One Year Later Michael Phelps Set to Come Out of Retirement First Women Move to Army Platoon Artillery Jobs Sex Offenders Charged in Serial Killings Police: Woman Stored Dead Babies in Garage OC Serial Murder Suspects May Have More Victims Family: 2 Shot in Head at Kan. Jewish Center Raw: Horse Jumping Inspires 'Bunny Hop' After Attack, Officials Kill 5 Bears in Florida Popular Science Honors Year's Top Inventions ND Oil Boom Attracting Drug Traffickers
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page