Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 23, 2014

DELUCA: Painting is donated to help get a dog for Jack

Niagara Gazette — Some days I really love my job. Here’s the reason for my most recent surge of gratitude.  Last Thursday I got a phone call about the column I wrote on young Jack Schroeder.

The caller and his wife were touched by the story about the 9-year-old Ran- som- ville boy with autism and how his mom and dad have devoted their lives to watching over him to keep him safe and happy. The Schroeder’s lives were already challenged before they were given jolt of bad news last summer when Jack was diagnosed with Type 1 childhood diabetes. 

Jack is lively and loving, but he does not speak, and so there is inherent danger in diabetes as he cannot tell his parents when he’s feeling the most dangerous symptoms of his illness. I wrote about a social media campaign to raise the $18,000 needed to buy a diabetic-alert dog — a 3-month-old yellow lab puppy named Lucy, currently being trained in Texas. (www.adogforjack)

Early on the day the column ran, I got the call from the Niagara Falls couple who wanted to donate a painting to help buy Lucy for Jack. Yesterday I went out and met them. Ed and Jean live in a mobile home park in Niagara Falls and asked that their last name not be used. I’m obliging them, of course.

The retired couple were given the painting by Ed’s Aunt Mina, just before she died. Mina was a wealthy widow who lived on the east coast of Florida.  All she really knew about the painting was that it was purchased in Rome, Italy during World War II by her husband, Joseph, a military doctor, who went on to become a successful plastic surgeon. 

The painting depicts Madonna and child, — the Mother Mary and her son, Jesus. I think that’s especially touching, because at the crux of Jack’s story is his mom, Nicole, a part-time nurse and mother of two who is his activist, researcher and medical care giver. She is constantly calculating his needs so that he is peaceful and happy. To do that, she must always be on guard, carefully watching whatever he eats and compensating for his insulin levels with shots up to six times a day. Dad, Michael, is the “buddy” who helps keeps Jack’s spirits high, but mom, Nichole, stays very busy keeping Jack well.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page