Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 22, 2014

BRADBERRY: Enough pontificating, climate change is REAL!

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — Some might decide to stay put to “study” it, while others ignore it all together, pretending it isn’t there, claiming it’s an illusion, but some will move off the tracks just in the nick of time and try to warn others about what’s coming, and help prepare for it, or try to prevent it altogether.

Not the perfect metaphor, I know, but you get my point, hopefully; this is real folks…look out the window.

Sure, some of us have experienced far worse; heck, we survived the Blizzards of ‘77 and ‘93. As some might say, “This ain’t nothin’” and those who’d say that would be absolutely right; this “ain’t nothin’”…this is HUGE to quote a once popular car-sales advertising term also heard ad-nauseam in this neck of the woods for years. And if some scientific prognosticators are correct, to use another famous Latin phrase, “You ain’t seen nothin’ yet.”

One of the earliest and perhaps most popular warnings, Al Gore’s startling 2008 film, An Inconvenient Truth attempted to bring the science of climate change to the masses, but, of course, that quickly became the focus of a political debate instead of a signal to pay closer attention to what is going on around us in plain sight.

The economic case for addressing the issue has been made over and over by such renowned economists as Nicholas Stern and too many others to mention here.

Last year the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (see ipcc.ch) issued what has been called “the most unequivocal report yet” on the connection between human activity and climate change, while too many of those policymakers and politicians who should know better, are still standing on the tracks.

The IPCC will be issuing “Assessment Reports” this year to address various aspects of the issue including reports on impacts, adaptation and vulnerability, and mitigation. It would be wise to pay close attention to what they are saying as the entire planet could be at risk, some places more so than others, and Niagara Falls is no exception.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page