Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 19, 2014

SINGER: A fond farewell to Christmas music

Niagara Gazette — Should I be predictably negative about Christmas music we’ve heard repetitively on radio or in malls, and finally gone for another year, after playing on certain stations since well before Thanksgiving? Sorry, but I don’t feel negative about this Niagara of recorded chestnuts many have valued this cozy, white-petalling time of year.

The weather mainly cooperated from at least mid-November, including a lovely, snowy Thanksgiving time, and ski areas opening a month earlier than usual; followed by generous thumps of lake effect, a few days of heavy, wipe-out rain circa Dec. 20 (geese who sold short by staying home briefly vindicated), and the bent, arthritic trees of ice events. But there was a fuller, providential return of winter for Dec. 25 and beyond. All of which made the old song “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas” (done by a variety of artists) work from early on this mostly cold season.

When it comes to a melding of rock and Christmas, two of my favorites (both played plentifully) have been Mariah Carey’s “All I Want for Christmas is You” and the Eagles’ “Please Come Home for Christmas.” Both are good, vibrant tunes, the former quicker and more pulsing, the latter wham-whamming at you more slowly, but now classically.

Both show how important significant others (along with friends and family) become at this time of year. But as Mr. Hemingway once said, messages ought to be kept to Western Union (nowadays email); and while there are certainly messages in both those songs, the whole renditions are what count, impelling people — at least me — to turn up the volume.

Brenda Lee’s “Rockin’ around the Christmas Tree” is obviously classic, too, but it’s been played too often for my taste. However, I still love the Beach Boys’ “Little Saint Nick,” from their own and rock’s comparative youth — quintessential Brian Wilson, before he devolved into a drug-crippled mess (and was also bypassed by new musical developments), then resurfaced via recovery and nostalgia.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dead at 87 Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page