Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 15, 2014

BRADBERRY: Dr. King's birthday, artistry of change

Niagara Gazette — We are stardust, we are golden, we’re caught in the devil’s bargain,

And we’ve got to get ourselves back to the garden.

 Joni Mitchell, Woodstock 1969

Music, poetry, theater ... can reflect the mood of a nation, affect and inspire a nation changing movement. No doubt, the music and literary art of the ‘60s did both.

Listening to her voice takes me back there to those days, reminds me what it was like back then, how far we’ve come, how far we’ve yet to go. Artists like our own R. Nathaniel Dett, Ma Rainey Joni Mitchell, Zora Neale Hurston, August Wilson and the late Amiri Baraka who died last week, each in their own way, understood and articulated in poetic fashion, the connections between culture and social change; one inspires the other.

Born a Baby Boomer, I was raised on music, nourished and molded by it. Whether it was the haunting Gregorian Chants we sang at Mass in the echo chamber-like walls of Our Lady of the Rosary church, or the blues we heard George Hound Dog Lorenz spinning on the radio, the music did more than make us dance; it made us think.

We listened, we thought about it, we marched; some off to war others in the streets inspired by words written and performed by artists like Buffalo Springfields “Something’s Happening Here”, Marvin Gaye’s “What’s Going On?” and Dylan’s “Blowing In the Wind” or the Beatles, “Give Peace a Chance.”

Like Stevie Wonder’s 1981 “Happy Birthday”,which after years of deliberation, debate and delay, many credit with leading to President Ronald Reagan’s 1983 signing into law, the creation of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day as a federal holiday, artists continue to reflect and inspire.

Acclaimed sculptor, Susan Geissler, who’s Freedom Crossing Monument, poised on the banks of the mighty Niagara River in Lewiston stands as testament to this Region’s role in the Underground Railroad, her recently added “Tuscarora Heroes” which pays tribute to the roles of the Tuscarora Nation here during the War of 1812 will continue to arouse and excite for decades to come, hopefully triggering additional inspirational art work along the Niagara Frontier.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Wegmans call warns of bad fruit I was humming to myself the other day, getting ready for work on a lovely summer morning, when I decided to check my messages on the house phone. I hit the play button and heard a message from Wegmans warning me about some fruit that I had bought at their store. As quick as that, a message with the scary potential to change my life or the life of someone I love.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Ortt jumps on drive to repeal the SAFE Act It was a no-brainer for North Tonawanda Mayor Rob Ortt, a Republican candidate for the 62nd Senate District seat, to join the forces to repeal the state's SAFE Act.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Delaying refuse law really just makes situation worse It's obvious the rollout of the city's new refuse and recyclables collection program has caused confusion and consternation among some city residents and business owners.

    July 24, 2014

  • NIA Giannetti, Robert mug 072414 GUEST VIEW: Village of Lewiston parking issues related to Artpark need to be addressed On Artpark nights, the South Fourth Street area and many other parts of the Village of Lewiston are covered with pop-up parking lots on residential lawns that operate in spite of existing zoning laws prohibiting commercial activity.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Tourists attracted here by history, beauty, politics As my friend and colleague, writer Don Glynn has so artfully portrayed over the decades, "For many years after the dawn of aviation, U.S. presidents visiting Western New York started at the Niagara Falls Airport. The reason: The main runway here was longer than that of the Buffalo airport and could easily accommodate Air Force One, the presidential aircraft."

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Experience Center vital to tourism here From time immemorial, Niagara tourism leaders have expounded on the need for a first-class orientation center to showcase our assets for the millions of annual visitors here.

    July 23, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Scheer, Mark mug CITY DESK: Hobel will be missed

    Lost in all the hoopla surrounding last week’s announced retirement of state Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, was the loss of another well-known figure in local government and politics.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: More pastors, a new church and more of everything Before I go further back in time, I want to just go back to last week where I took my own advice and spent a couple of hours at the Como, where I enjoyed one of their traditional "parade of bowls and plates of great salads, pasta and meat dishes" and listened to longtime friends of Tom Darro roast him with humor, accolades and best wishes. And best of all no one who came to the microphone mentioned garbage totes or carts. It was a welcome relief.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Time is of the essence in Maziarz probe Voters in the 62nd district and elsewhere across the state deserve the ability to make an educated decision about any candidates who take money from Maziarz while he still has the ability to dole it out.

    July 21, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page