Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 15, 2014

BRADBERRY: Dr. King's birthday, artistry of change

Niagara Gazette — We are stardust, we are golden, we’re caught in the devil’s bargain,

And we’ve got to get ourselves back to the garden.

 Joni Mitchell, Woodstock 1969

Music, poetry, theater ... can reflect the mood of a nation, affect and inspire a nation changing movement. No doubt, the music and literary art of the ‘60s did both.

Listening to her voice takes me back there to those days, reminds me what it was like back then, how far we’ve come, how far we’ve yet to go. Artists like our own R. Nathaniel Dett, Ma Rainey Joni Mitchell, Zora Neale Hurston, August Wilson and the late Amiri Baraka who died last week, each in their own way, understood and articulated in poetic fashion, the connections between culture and social change; one inspires the other.

Born a Baby Boomer, I was raised on music, nourished and molded by it. Whether it was the haunting Gregorian Chants we sang at Mass in the echo chamber-like walls of Our Lady of the Rosary church, or the blues we heard George Hound Dog Lorenz spinning on the radio, the music did more than make us dance; it made us think.

We listened, we thought about it, we marched; some off to war others in the streets inspired by words written and performed by artists like Buffalo Springfields “Something’s Happening Here”, Marvin Gaye’s “What’s Going On?” and Dylan’s “Blowing In the Wind” or the Beatles, “Give Peace a Chance.”

Like Stevie Wonder’s 1981 “Happy Birthday”,which after years of deliberation, debate and delay, many credit with leading to President Ronald Reagan’s 1983 signing into law, the creation of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day as a federal holiday, artists continue to reflect and inspire.

Acclaimed sculptor, Susan Geissler, who’s Freedom Crossing Monument, poised on the banks of the mighty Niagara River in Lewiston stands as testament to this Region’s role in the Underground Railroad, her recently added “Tuscarora Heroes” which pays tribute to the roles of the Tuscarora Nation here during the War of 1812 will continue to arouse and excite for decades to come, hopefully triggering additional inspirational art work along the Niagara Frontier.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page