Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 25, 2013

GLYNN: Artpark created as part of deal-making in Albany

Niagara Gazette — Joseph Perisco, a principal speech writer for Gov. Nelson A. Rockefeller’s presidential campaigns, recounts how decades ago Artpark, the cultural and entertainment center in Lewiston, came into existence.

It was all about politics, according to Perisco, a respected journalist and author. It was, in fact, the result of negotiations between State Sen. Earl W. Brydges, R-Niagara Falls, and Rockefeller. At the time, Brydges was the Senate Majority Leader, considered the second highest office on Capitol Hill. Assembly Speaker Perry B. Duryea Jr. of Long Island, completed the triumvirate.

Perisco recalls that Rockefeller was a staunch supporter for a plan to build the Saratoga Performing Arts Center, just up the Hudson River from the capital. It was No. 1 on Rocky’s list then. Brydges, a powerful voice in the Senate, reportedly assured the governor that the Saratoga plan would be approved but, meanwhile, the senator wanted funding for a beautiful park along the Niagara Gorge in Lewiston. Although Rockefeller wasn’t used to people pressuring him in such a manner, he was sensitive to Brydges’ influence in making things happen. He then reportedly said, “Ok, Earl, you get your Artpark and I get my Saratoga Performing Arts Center.” It all sounded much like a deal that was cut, Perisco said. adding that he wasn’t privy to the overall discussion.

That story is told in a new book, “Oreos & Dubbonet: Remembering Governor Nelson A. Rockefeller,” by Joseph H. Boyd Jr. and Charles R. Holcomb.

Forty years later, Earl W. Brydges Artpark — few people today refer to the formal name — is celebrating a milestone as it prepares for another exciting season.

•••

STOP & FRISK?: There’s no question that all law enforcement agencies acted properly in investigating the two young brothers pulled over last Friday on Elmwood Avenue in Niagara Falls. close to the City Market. It was understandable in light of the massive hunt then under way for one of the suspects in Boston Marathon bombings. Still, the reason for stopping them in the first place is, however, open to debate. When did it become a crime not to make eye contact with the driver parallel to your vehicle? Driver education instructors always warn motorists to keep their eyes on the road. Ironically, too much eye contact can lead to road rage, we’re told. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dead at 87 Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page