Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 14, 2013

GLYNN: Robinson movie stirs memories of 'The Barber'

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — Again, it’s not in the movie, but Dodgers manager Leo (The Lip) Durocher argued with the umpires that he had urged Maglie to stick with his pitching and that “Robinson was just trying a bush-league trick to get his goat.” Later, in the clubhouse, Robinson told reporters, “If it was a bush stunt, he is a bush manager because he taught me how to do it,” Robinson added, “In fact, Leo (Durocher) used to say if a pitcher tries to stick the ball in your ear, lay a bunt down first base and run up his back!” That pearl of wisdom comes from the same mouthy manager who claimed, “Nice guys finish last.”

Without Maglie on the mound, the movie obviously needed someone else as the villain, so Ben Chapman (Alan Tudyk), manager of the Philadelphia Phillies, was selected as Robinson’s No. 1 agitator. In real life, he hurled every conceivable racial slur at the first black to play in the majors. When Robinson was at bat, Chapman would call him ‘Snowflake,’ among other names, and demand to know in a loud voice when they let him out of the jungle. Chapman hated blacks so much that sportswriter Roger Kahn called him a “Klansman without a hood.”

Maglie seldom if ever talked about his relationship with Robinson. After ‘The Barber’ retired from baseball (He played or coached with five major league teams) he invested in a tire business and a couple of other failed enterprises. For a brief time, he worked with the sales staff of the former Niagara Falls Convention and Visitors Bureau. After suffering two strokes he was confined to the Schoellkopf Health Center in Niagara Falls where he died Dec. 29, 1992. 

Robinson was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, July 23, 1962. Among the guests that day was 80-year-old Branch Rickey (Harrison Ford), general manager of the Dodgers in 1945 when he discovered Robinson playing for the Kansas City Monarchs. He was assigned to the Montreal Royals, the Dodgers’ farm team in the Triple-A International League. He played his first game with the Dodgers on April 15, 1947. Under his contract at the time, he was given a $3,500 signing bonus and $600 per month. He died Oct. 24, 1972, at age 53,

•••

THE LAST WORD: Andy Pafko, an outfielder with the Dodgers in the Robinson-Maglie era, said: “Those Dodger-Giant games aren’t baseball — they’re civil wars!” The movie misses that part of the story.

Contact reporter Don Glynn at 282-2311, ext. 2246.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Wegmans call warns of bad fruit I was humming to myself the other day, getting ready for work on a lovely summer morning, when I decided to check my messages on the house phone. I hit the play button and heard a message from Wegmans warning me about some fruit that I had bought at their store. As quick as that, a message with the scary potential to change my life or the life of someone I love.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Ortt jumps on drive to repeal the SAFE Act It was a no-brainer for North Tonawanda Mayor Rob Ortt, a Republican candidate for the 62nd Senate District seat, to join the forces to repeal the state's SAFE Act.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Delaying refuse law really just makes situation worse It's obvious the rollout of the city's new refuse and recyclables collection program has caused confusion and consternation among some city residents and business owners.

    July 24, 2014

  • NIA Giannetti, Robert mug 072414 GUEST VIEW: Village of Lewiston parking issues related to Artpark need to be addressed On Artpark nights, the South Fourth Street area and many other parts of the Village of Lewiston are covered with pop-up parking lots on residential lawns that operate in spite of existing zoning laws prohibiting commercial activity.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Tourists attracted here by history, beauty, politics As my friend and colleague, writer Don Glynn has so artfully portrayed over the decades, "For many years after the dawn of aviation, U.S. presidents visiting Western New York started at the Niagara Falls Airport. The reason: The main runway here was longer than that of the Buffalo airport and could easily accommodate Air Force One, the presidential aircraft."

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Experience Center vital to tourism here From time immemorial, Niagara tourism leaders have expounded on the need for a first-class orientation center to showcase our assets for the millions of annual visitors here.

    July 23, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Scheer, Mark mug CITY DESK: Hobel will be missed

    Lost in all the hoopla surrounding last week’s announced retirement of state Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, was the loss of another well-known figure in local government and politics.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: More pastors, a new church and more of everything Before I go further back in time, I want to just go back to last week where I took my own advice and spent a couple of hours at the Como, where I enjoyed one of their traditional "parade of bowls and plates of great salads, pasta and meat dishes" and listened to longtime friends of Tom Darro roast him with humor, accolades and best wishes. And best of all no one who came to the microphone mentioned garbage totes or carts. It was a welcome relief.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Time is of the essence in Maziarz probe Voters in the 62nd district and elsewhere across the state deserve the ability to make an educated decision about any candidates who take money from Maziarz while he still has the ability to dole it out.

    July 21, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page