Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 14, 2013

JACKIE DAVIS: The YWCA and the 'Faces & Hats' of womanhood

Niagara Gazette — Recently, I had the honor of touring Carolyn’s House of the YWCA of Niagara. CEO Kathy Granchelli graciously led me through the historic halls of this beautiful building and explained the services and programs that Carolyn’s House offers to homeless women and children.

With apartments, daily GED classes, vocational/life skills training, college enrollment assistance and pre-college workshops, Carolyn’s House offers several opportunities for homeless women to make a better life for themselves and their children. The house is named for Carolyn Van Schalk of Niagara Falls, an initiator of this work, and an advocate of life improvement for women, who died in a tragic accident before this program came to fruition. Carolyn’s House opened in 2005, and in 2009, the YWCA of Niagara received the Hallmark Initiative Award for Economic Empowerment from the YWCA USA for its programs.

Carolyn’s House is wonderful. I was glad to learn that the YWCA has recently been granted funding to transform their Lockport kitchen facilities into a culinary training kitchen. This new facility will be used to help give disadvantaged women or survivors of domestic violence an opportunity to gain employable culinary skills. How wonderful it will be to have yet another place of new beginnings for women and their families right here in Lockport.

Not long ago, I was reminded of the “Neo-Traditionalists” of the 90s, the “Mommy Wars” of the 80s, and the “Feminist Movement” of the 70s. It was when I saw the interviews, and read of the actions of two new top women executives of two major corporations. One is a young CEO who took a two-week maternity leave, arranged a nursery next to her executive office, and cancelled work from home privileges for all other working mothers of her company — thus ending a family-friendly aspect of her corporation. The other is Facebook’s newest COO. You may have seen her interviews promoting her newly released book “Lean In,” thus re-opening a national discussion of women in the corporate workplace, and gender inequalities. (Could this be the Gloria Steinem of this millennium?)

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page