Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 14, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Tragic memories of little ones lost inspire hope

Niagara Gazette — Niagara County businesswoman Candace Corsaro will never forget the last time she and her three children spent time with the neighbor children, and she will never forget having to tell her children that they wouldn’t see their friends again.

One Christmas Eve night in the late 1970s, Corsaro’s neighbor killed her two children. Corsaro and her children had been with the neighbors that very night, opening Christmas presents and playing merrily.

“My children were too small to understand or remember, but to this day, I remember,” Corsaro said.

Unfortunately, this type of story is not uncommon in our country or our community. The United States has the worst record of any industrialized nation — losing five children every day due to abuse-related deaths. We also see staggering statistics with regard to child sexual abuse. For example, one in four girls and one in six boys will be sexually abused before their 18th birthday.

Child abuse is not an isolated issue. It happens across all socio-economic levels and all neighborhoods — and it happens in Niagara County. In 2012, the Niagara County Department of Social Services received more than 3,300 reports of child abuse and neglect. They had 326 reports in January 2013 alone.

“The need for services is acute, as child abuse is a growing problem across Niagara County,” said Laura Kelemen, executive director of the Child Advocacy Center of Niagara. “Protecting our children is a job everyone needs to play a role in.”

With this need in mind, two community agencies dedicated to the protection of children, The Child Advocacy Center of Niagara (CAC) and Family & Children’s Service of Niagara (FACS) host a fundraiser called the Gala for Hope Niagara each year to raise money for the prevention and treatment of child physical and sexual abuse.

This year’s Gala for Hope Niagara will be held April 18 at the Conference Center Niagara Falls, 101 Old Falls Street, from 5:30 to 8:30 p.m. Tickets are available online at galaforhopeniagara.com.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page