Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 12, 2013

DELUCA: Her best day ever

Niagara Gazette — Sandra Lahrache turned 50 on Wednesday. It was, she said, the best day of her life. 

Her original plan was to celebrate by doing fifty nice things, but the day kind of spiraled out of control. As a result, there was a little epidemic of kindness that spread throughout the region.

The idea came to her last summer when she was having dinner with her teenage son, Zach, at a restaurant in Lewiston. They happened to notice an older man dining alone. When he saw Sandra and her son having a chocolate lava dessert, he commented on how good it looked.

On a whim, Sandra quietly ordered another dessert, and asked that it be given to the man without saying who’d paid for it. The waitress told the guy there’d been an extra one in the kitchen. He was, as you can imagine, delighted by the unexpected surprise.

With that action, Sandra got hooked on a sort of kamikaze niceness — swooping in and doing something to bring a smile to someone’s face and then disappearing, when possible, before being detected. 

It’s not like she wasn’t already engaged in a life of service. A mom with two kids, she worked at a foundation in Lewiston that assists families when a rape has occurred. She also volunteers as a rape crisis counselor. And, though her work might sound depressing, she told me she feels a certain joy in helping others. She wanted to do more.

As her 50th birthday loomed, she told her people that, instead of gifts, she wanted everyone to do a good deed. They were on board, but not particularly as enthused as she.  

The day of her birthday she rose at 4:30 a.m. and her first action was to write love letters to the most important family and friends in her life. Then, she and her friend, Shoshanna Cogan, dropped in at Heart, Love and Soul where they chopped broccoli and organized silverware for the lunch crowd at the soup kitchen. It was Sister Beth Brosmer who heard her story and phoned me and said, “You are going to love this woman’s story.” Of course, I did.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page