Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 11, 2013

BRADBERRY: A wonderful life: The Mandela effect

Niagara Gazette — No matter how many times I read and watch them, almost always with loved ones, sometimes all alone, movies like “Miracle on 34th Street,” “Holiday Inn, White Christmas,” “A Christmas Carol,” “White Christmas” and “Meet Me in St. Louis” and great reading like Charles Dickens’ “A Christmas Carol” always lift my spirits and put me in the right mood at Christmas time.

Leading up to the big day, one of my personal favorite Christmas traditions, besides gift shopping for unique presents at little locally owned and operated shoppes, cooking, eating and sharing special treats from around the world, and reconnecting with long-lost friends and family, is to gorge myself on classic holiday stories, especially Christmas-themed movies and, of course, singing and playing as many of those joyful Christmas songs as possible; music makes almost everything clearer, if not better, doesn’t it?

This year is no different except that watching the memorial celebration of Nelson Mandela’s amazing life reminded me of one of the worlds most appreciated, my number one favorite Christmas movie of all time, Frank Capra’s “It’s a Wonderful Life,” starring Jimmy Stewart as George Bailey.

No, Bailey and Mandela have little in common, but the theme, based on writer Phillip Van Doren Stern’s 1939 short story, “The Greatest Gift” permeates Mandela’s reality as Bailey learns, with the help of his appointed guardian angel, Clarence Odbody what life in Bedford Falls would have been like without him.

Searching the 500 cable and internet television channels for the film during the wee hours yesterday, instead of the movie, I came across and began to watch live broadcast coverage of the celebration of Mandela’s 95 year-long life; it was powerfully inspiring to say the least, keeping me up and awake all night long.

Soulful, yet joyous music and the constant energetic bouncing of nearly 95,000 rainbow hued people including at least 90 world leaders filled the FNB Soccer Stadium.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page