Niagara Gazette

Opinion

July 20, 2013

COPS NOTEBOOK: You just can't make this stuff up

From the "We Don't Make This Stuff Up Department" comes this gem.

On July 12, Lewiston Police stopped a man, at 2:30 p.m. on Dickersonville Road. Turned out the 70-year-old motorist was driving without a license.

The lack of license had nothing to do with his age or driving skills. Rather, the man's license was suspended for what police described as his "numerous" prior driving while intoxicated arrests.

The driver was ticketed for third-degree aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle.

And why, you ask, was he driving on a suspended license? Take a guess?

He was going to the store to get beer!

I suppose it could have been worse. He could have had a few cold ones before heading out for more.

A helping hand

It should be a fundamental tenant of committing crime: leave no clues behind.

But sometimes criminals leave cops a roadmap right to their doors.

Take the shoplifting case of Deon Lorese Johnson. 

Johnson apparently decided she was in need of some face cream.  OK, $164 worth of face cream.

And Johnson decided she'd apply a five-finger discount to get that face cream. 

As she left a Portage Avenue store with her deeply discounted Oil of Olay, Johnson was stopped by security officers. A struggle ensued and Johnson dropped the bag she was using to carry the face cream out of the store.

The security officer recovered the bag, the face cream and Johnson's Niagara County jail prisoner ID bracelet that she had conveniently left in the bag as well.

Case closed.

Helping hand part two

Along the lines of the Johnson case, comes an incident in the Falls that should further remind those who steal not to leave their IDs behind.

A 31-year-old man attempted to charge the purchase of gas at a Niagara Falls Boulevard service station, but his card didn't seem to be working at the pump. The man went inside, gave his driver's license to the clerk and she authorized the pump.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners Obama Greets Wounded Warriors Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Franco Leads Star-studded Broadway Cast Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page