Niagara Gazette

Opinion

July 20, 2013

COPS NOTEBOOK: You just can't make this stuff up

From the "We Don't Make This Stuff Up Department" comes this gem.

On July 12, Lewiston Police stopped a man, at 2:30 p.m. on Dickersonville Road. Turned out the 70-year-old motorist was driving without a license.

The lack of license had nothing to do with his age or driving skills. Rather, the man's license was suspended for what police described as his "numerous" prior driving while intoxicated arrests.

The driver was ticketed for third-degree aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle.

And why, you ask, was he driving on a suspended license? Take a guess?

He was going to the store to get beer!

I suppose it could have been worse. He could have had a few cold ones before heading out for more.

A helping hand

It should be a fundamental tenant of committing crime: leave no clues behind.

But sometimes criminals leave cops a roadmap right to their doors.

Take the shoplifting case of Deon Lorese Johnson. 

Johnson apparently decided she was in need of some face cream.  OK, $164 worth of face cream.

And Johnson decided she'd apply a five-finger discount to get that face cream. 

As she left a Portage Avenue store with her deeply discounted Oil of Olay, Johnson was stopped by security officers. A struggle ensued and Johnson dropped the bag she was using to carry the face cream out of the store.

The security officer recovered the bag, the face cream and Johnson's Niagara County jail prisoner ID bracelet that she had conveniently left in the bag as well.

Case closed.

Helping hand part two

Along the lines of the Johnson case, comes an incident in the Falls that should further remind those who steal not to leave their IDs behind.

A 31-year-old man attempted to charge the purchase of gas at a Niagara Falls Boulevard service station, but his card didn't seem to be working at the pump. The man went inside, gave his driver's license to the clerk and she authorized the pump.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page