Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 17, 2013

SINGER: Tackling our technological ingratitude

Niagara Gazette — We — myself included — often take the benefits of technical innovation for granted, innumerable gizmos and conveniences maintaining us in the style to which we’re accustomed. The result? We now deem many of these things legated to us as inalienable rights!

You get a sense of how hyper-inventive people once were from Daniel Boorstin’s old book, “The Americans: The Democratic Experience,” focused not on politicians, but on types like a Vermont farm boy, Otis, inventing an elevator for among other places, New York’s Macy’s (itself successful due to strides in the plate glass-making industry, sewing machines impelled by huge uniform needs of the Civil War, etc.). The author discusses one Borden, stunned by the Donner Pass tragedy and despite nay sayers, inventing condensed milk. Not to mention those who made canned goods of all varieties safe, and on it went.

I also remember reading a biography of Charles Kettering (his name now associated with a prestigious New York cancer center) — like Otis, a farm boy, in his case from Ohio, who observed the persnickety behavior of cranks to get cars going. Sometimes they obstinately spun out of control and busted shoulders of people cursing them on frosty mornings.

Kettering worked obsessively until ready to take his invention to Detroit — nothing short of a device to create self-starting vehicles we again take for granted. You apprehend the dizzying pace of such changes from other books like Frederick Lewis Allen’s classic on the ‘20s “Only Yesterday” (1931) and Sinclair Lewis’ fine novel of that era, “Babbitt.”

But a more observable sense of such innovation comes from visiting the Corning Museum of Glass, open all but four days of the year. And here it’s not just glass for tumblers, chess sets, or Pyrex containers once miraculously invented to avoid shattering at great temperatures; but applications for telescopes and more sophisticated equipment. Plus gorgeous art (giant colored glass fruits especially leap out at you). The Corning gift shop reveals an American cornucopia that rested entirely on laborious innovation, and which again, many of us take for granted.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page