Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 8, 2012

GLYNN: No one helps man staring at death

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — There is, as always, another side to the story, as I was reminded Friday by a journalism professor. 

"A news photographer has to be an observer. He can't be a participant," said Roy Gutterman, an associate professor of communications and journalism in the S.I. Newhouse School of Journalism at Syracuse University.

From an ethics standpoint, Gutterman emphasized, a photographer has to remain on the sidelines and cover the news. He cited numerous situations when photographers assigned to war zones (e.g. Vietnam) and Third World countries took photos for an accurate record of what was happening as opposed, of course, to the spoon-fed spin that could emerge from the Pentagon and elsewhere. Sometimes that meant watching an assassination, a guy plunging off a cliff, or a protestor self-immolating.

"I know it sounds heartless, callous and even inhumane," Gutterman said, "But the line between telling and being a participant is firm." Gutterman, who also is the director of the Tully Center for Free Speech on the Syracuse campus, added: "I stand by the press (photographer) in this case."

Even if the photographer is absolved in the situation, why didn't didn't one of the other people standing on the platform intervene? Dr. Celia Fisher, a specialist in ethics education at Fordham University, said in an interview Thursday: "We certainly have a moral obligation as human beings to help people if we can." Fisher also noted there's a "diffusion of responsibility," where the more people there are around, the more likely they are to act on their own. They think someone else close by is going to do it or can do it better. 

Anne Klaeysen, who heads the New York Society for Ethical Culture, told a New York Post reporter: "I empathize with those there (at the scene), and I don't know what I would have done. But had they assessed the situation, once he's on the tracks, for goodness sake, reach your arm out!"

The venerable New York Times, which often pontificates on such issues, stayed above the fray this past week. It simply stated: "The image is undeniably vivid. But should it have been published?"

•••

A FACE LIFT: Overheard in a doctor's office in the Parkway Apartments: "I was going to have plastic surgery until I noticed  that my physician's office was full of portraits by Picasso."

Contact reporter Don Glynn at 282-2311, ext. 2246.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page