Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 3, 2012

HIGGS: The rise of Auxiliary of NFMMC

Niagara Gazette — Another organization that deserves some special attention and some “holiday” and “everyday” cheers is the Auxiliary of Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center. As a member for a few years, I regularly receive an envelope in the mail bursting with news and items about coming events that are fun things to do which also help the medical center. More on that as we learn the history of an organization that has been with us for a long time and shows no signs of leaving. Diane Glynn, an active member, compiled a short history of the group in 2005 and she kindly shared her research of the auxiliary with me for this article.

Memorial itself began in 1895 as a small emergency hospital following the merging of several villages and the incorporation of the City of Niagara Falls on March 17, 1892. Shortly after the city was born, several incidents of delay in medical attention following serious injury to its citizens, it became urgent to organize an emergency hospital.

A permanent hospital building was promised by Elizabeth Townsend and her sisters Mrs. Wheeler and Mrs. Pettibone as a memorial to their mother, Mrs. Jane Townsend. Land on what was then known as 11th Street near Pine Avenue (now Memorial Parkway) was donated by the heirs of Albert H. Porter and the Niagara Falls Memorial Hospital was incorporated. It began accepting patients by 1897, in the Townsend Building which included four wards, with four beds each and a surgery.

The early years were a continuous struggle and the hospital fell into hard times trying to meet its obligations and provide some care for the needy as well as the paying patient. The auxiliary was founded in 1905 to help support this fledging hospital, and was known at the time as the Women’s Auxiliary. Today everybody is welcome to join. In the early days members served as volunteers to keep costs down, formed sewing circles and made curtains and mended sheets and towels. They supervised the kitchen and laundry, acted as purchasing agents buying medical and surgical supplies and helped the hospital in other material ways.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page