Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 3, 2012

HIGGS: The rise of Auxiliary of NFMMC

Niagara Gazette — Another organization that deserves some special attention and some “holiday” and “everyday” cheers is the Auxiliary of Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center. As a member for a few years, I regularly receive an envelope in the mail bursting with news and items about coming events that are fun things to do which also help the medical center. More on that as we learn the history of an organization that has been with us for a long time and shows no signs of leaving. Diane Glynn, an active member, compiled a short history of the group in 2005 and she kindly shared her research of the auxiliary with me for this article.

Memorial itself began in 1895 as a small emergency hospital following the merging of several villages and the incorporation of the City of Niagara Falls on March 17, 1892. Shortly after the city was born, several incidents of delay in medical attention following serious injury to its citizens, it became urgent to organize an emergency hospital.

A permanent hospital building was promised by Elizabeth Townsend and her sisters Mrs. Wheeler and Mrs. Pettibone as a memorial to their mother, Mrs. Jane Townsend. Land on what was then known as 11th Street near Pine Avenue (now Memorial Parkway) was donated by the heirs of Albert H. Porter and the Niagara Falls Memorial Hospital was incorporated. It began accepting patients by 1897, in the Townsend Building which included four wards, with four beds each and a surgery.

The early years were a continuous struggle and the hospital fell into hard times trying to meet its obligations and provide some care for the needy as well as the paying patient. The auxiliary was founded in 1905 to help support this fledging hospital, and was known at the time as the Women’s Auxiliary. Today everybody is welcome to join. In the early days members served as volunteers to keep costs down, formed sewing circles and made curtains and mended sheets and towels. They supervised the kitchen and laundry, acted as purchasing agents buying medical and surgical supplies and helped the hospital in other material ways.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page