Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 18, 2012

GUEST VIEW: Transparency needed from Niagara Falls City Council

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — 2013 Community Development Budget: The city’s community development budget, made up of federal funds, is based on public participation. The department has months of direct public comment during budget drafting. The entire council received a copy of the plan on Sept. 7, and was scheduled to vote on Oct. 15. Seems straightforward, right? Enter the City Council Majority. They tabled the budget without explanation, and denied Community Development Director Seth Piccirillo’s request to present the budget. Why? — because the public’s budget did not suit the council’s preferences. They made two rounds of arbitrary revisions and found a way to take credit for a demolition strategy that includes many stakeholders. Then they tabled it again and gave the public two and half days to comment on the final version, instead of the month it was supposed to have. In the end, we voted on it without public speakers on the same day of the mayor’s budget presentation, where no one would notice. My questions: Councilmen, do you understand that transparency is a law and not a suggestion, and that we are elected to advance the public’s priorities, not our own?

The tax base: 2013 is going to be a difficult budget year. While I thank Governor Cuomo, Dyster, and everyone who worked on the $13 million NYPA agreement, difficult decisions still need to be made. Every year will be hard, and the fear of a tax increase will always exist, if we do not keep and attract residents, especially our young people. We will not be able to afford our city services if people continue to leave at the current rate, without more people moving in. If we ever want a significant tax reduction, we need a larger base. It is simple math.

In October, Choolokian told a national broadcast company that attracting new residents was not a priority, and we should focus on what is here instead. What’s here, is a city suffering from decades of population loss, the tax increases that loss created, and houses that are condemned because there are not enough people to fill them. My questions: Councilman Choolokian — please explain, to me and my fellow homeowners, why growing the tax base, and plans to keep our young people in Niagara Falls, in not a high priority to you? Do you not want to significantly cut our taxes in future years?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Giannetti, Robert mug 072414 GUEST VIEW: Village of Lewiston parking issues related to Artpark need to be addressed On Artpark nights, the South Fourth Street area and many other parts of the Village of Lewiston are covered with pop-up parking lots on residential lawns that operate in spite of existing zoning laws prohibiting commercial activity.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Tourists attracted here by history, beauty, politics As my friend and colleague, writer Don Glynn has so artfully portrayed over the decades, "For many years after the dawn of aviation, U.S. presidents visiting Western New York started at the Niagara Falls Airport. The reason: The main runway here was longer than that of the Buffalo airport and could easily accommodate Air Force One, the presidential aircraft."

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Experience Center vital to tourism here From time immemorial, Niagara tourism leaders have expounded on the need for a first-class orientation center to showcase our assets for the millions of annual visitors here.

    July 23, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Scheer, Mark mug CITY DESK: Hobel will be missed

    Lost in all the hoopla surrounding last week’s announced retirement of state Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, was the loss of another well-known figure in local government and politics.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: More pastors, a new church and more of everything Before I go further back in time, I want to just go back to last week where I took my own advice and spent a couple of hours at the Como, where I enjoyed one of their traditional "parade of bowls and plates of great salads, pasta and meat dishes" and listened to longtime friends of Tom Darro roast him with humor, accolades and best wishes. And best of all no one who came to the microphone mentioned garbage totes or carts. It was a welcome relief.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Time is of the essence in Maziarz probe Voters in the 62nd district and elsewhere across the state deserve the ability to make an educated decision about any candidates who take money from Maziarz while he still has the ability to dole it out.

    July 21, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Border Patrol chief examines deadly acts A former Buffalo police chief now has the formidable task of reviewing cases where border agents have used deadly force.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Nostalgia for nostalgia: Where will it end? Not only has there been a huge nostalgia boom in America, but we're now getting to the point where there's much nostalgia for nostalgia! Maybe signifying that nostalgia will wear itself out, or, as in the old adage, that it ain't what it used to be?

    July 20, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Barracks site solved -- let's get something else moving The New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation heard the community loud and clear this time.

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page