Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 2, 2013

HIGGS: A look at a few neighborhood landmarks

Niagara Gazette — We started our series on landmarks buildings with schools and now we are delving into churches. There are a few obvious towering landmarks which will eventually be written about here, but I felt the need to go into the neighborhoods (which is where most of my thoughts are centered anyway) to fish out a few landmarks there.

Thanks to Pete Ames and his tireless research on area churches I am able to ferret out some of the highlights of his findings. Much of his historical evidence came from a former Gazette staff writer Dick Klug who wrote about many of our area places of worship back in the 1960s. I also have a friend whose family were early members of this week’s topic to help with some of the details.

Back in 1924 the students of the Martin Luther Seminary of Buffalo canvassed the area in north Niagara Falls to determine a site for the organization of a new Lutheran church. Led by a June 1925 graduate, the Rev. Theodore Rehkopf, the group concentrated in the DeVeaux section and ultimately a location was selected and he led the early services in the church parsonage at 1217 Roselle Ave. A Sunday school was organized in November of that year. During the fall, three lots were purchased at McKoon and Vanderbilt avenues for $6,000 by the Mission Board of the Eastern Conference of the Buffalo Synod with plans to build the Calvary Evangelical Lutheran Church.

As we learned about the early days of Holy Trinity, the congregations started out small. The services at Calvary Lutheran were held in what was called the Basement Church following a dedication on Aug. 1, 1926 and they remained there during the next 10 years. Total cost was $17,000. Two years later the congregation was officially consecrated in April 1927 with 25 charter members and took the name Calvary Evangelical Lutheran Church. A Ladies Missionary Society and a Luther League were organized. The Buffalo Synod canceled $8,500 of Calvary’s indebtedness and they became a part of the American Lutheran Church.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page