Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 2, 2013

HIGGS: A look at a few neighborhood landmarks

Niagara Gazette — We started our series on landmarks buildings with schools and now we are delving into churches. There are a few obvious towering landmarks which will eventually be written about here, but I felt the need to go into the neighborhoods (which is where most of my thoughts are centered anyway) to fish out a few landmarks there.

Thanks to Pete Ames and his tireless research on area churches I am able to ferret out some of the highlights of his findings. Much of his historical evidence came from a former Gazette staff writer Dick Klug who wrote about many of our area places of worship back in the 1960s. I also have a friend whose family were early members of this week’s topic to help with some of the details.

Back in 1924 the students of the Martin Luther Seminary of Buffalo canvassed the area in north Niagara Falls to determine a site for the organization of a new Lutheran church. Led by a June 1925 graduate, the Rev. Theodore Rehkopf, the group concentrated in the DeVeaux section and ultimately a location was selected and he led the early services in the church parsonage at 1217 Roselle Ave. A Sunday school was organized in November of that year. During the fall, three lots were purchased at McKoon and Vanderbilt avenues for $6,000 by the Mission Board of the Eastern Conference of the Buffalo Synod with plans to build the Calvary Evangelical Lutheran Church.

As we learned about the early days of Holy Trinity, the congregations started out small. The services at Calvary Lutheran were held in what was called the Basement Church following a dedication on Aug. 1, 1926 and they remained there during the next 10 years. Total cost was $17,000. Two years later the congregation was officially consecrated in April 1927 with 25 charter members and took the name Calvary Evangelical Lutheran Church. A Ladies Missionary Society and a Luther League were organized. The Buffalo Synod canceled $8,500 of Calvary’s indebtedness and they became a part of the American Lutheran Church.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page