Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 1, 2013

GLYNN: April & Nino won Grammy for '63 song

Niagara Gazette — When job opportunities appear hopeless, many people start looking elsewhere, even if it means moving far away from the hometown.

That was the dilemma that Caroline Vincinette LoTempio and her brother Nino faced in the early 1940s. Their parents, convinced of their children’s impressive talents for music, followed a friend’s suggestion and the whole family headed to Los Angeles. Except for a short relocation to the Cataract City — a temporary bout of homesickness — the LoTempios decided they really belonged in L.A.

Caroline was destined to gain fame as April Stevens, a recording artist, as she recounts in a delightful autobiography, “Teach Me Tiger,” a song she recorded in 1959, By the way, it’s still being played today and making money. “That song was never a hit, but it is by far may most famous solo outing,” she reveals in her book.

The author rightly credits her bother for his crucial role in the duo’s rise to stardom. “Nino would think of the notes and harmonies, write them down and teach them to me,” April said, “He is truly a great talent and an exceptional saxophonist,” she added.

Over the years, April and Dino developed numerous contacts with headliners in the entertainment industry. One example: They were at a small table at a cozy bar one evening — waiting to a table in the dining room — when they invited a pretty young gal with long dark hair sitting alone to join them for a drink. Turned out it was Cher and before long she and Nino would be dating a few times. Eventually, of course, Cher and Sonny Bono would make history together.

It took a while for April and her brother to get recognized amidst the scramble in the highly competitive field they had chosen to make a living. But the wait was worth every minute when a promoter at Atlantic City Records in New York City was thrilled with their recording of “Deep Purple” in 1963. “I love that record, and I’m going to make sure all of the disc jockeys I know play it because, if it’s played, people will buy it.” the promoter predicted. “And he was right,” April said. Nino’s song, “I’ve been Carrying a Torch for You So Long That I Burned a Great Big Hole in My Heart” was on the back side of the record (The longest title ever put on the “B” side of a No. 1 record, April quipped). Before “Deep Purple” was released, the duo was known as April Stevens and Nino Tempo, but then they decided to change the order and identify the team as Nino Tempo and April Stevens.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page