Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 28, 2013

GLYNN: Shopping can take edge off family tradition

Niagara Gazette — Thanksgiving, unfortunately, has lost some of its luster. 

Maybe it’s because of Black Friday, the most hyped shopping day of the year, when people have been known to trample on others in pursuit of a bargain. Or is it the family? Relatives and guests sitting in the living room just to watch football games or text someone they haven’t seen for more than an hour.

Retailers themselves are often the villains for tearing at the family fabric. Many employees are now being pressured to work on Thanksgiving Day so the business owners can get a jump start of the holiday shopping. (Some employers, it should be noted, said they will not open today so employees can spend time with their families: Home Depot. T.J. Maxx, BJs, and Marshalls, to name a few).

Nearly one in four persons participating in a recent survey by the National Retail Federation said they would be shopping on Thanksgiving. Some retailers staying open defend their policy because the 2013 holiday shopping season is just 27 days, the shortest period between Thanksgiving and Christmas since 2002. 

For starters, the frenzy over the Christmas shopping has pushed the turkey dinner with all its trimmings to the back burner. The Big Box stores have jump-started the Black Friday sales blitz to the point that it adversely affects people trying to celebrate the occasion with loved ones. 

“I’ll be working (Thanksgiving) but I don’t care. I’ll be getting double time,” said a young clerk Monday at a retail store on Niagara Falls Boulevard. Sharing a meal with the family was of no concern to her. “Besides if I work that day, I can pay some bills that I’ve had since I got laid off,” the clerk added.

While some major retailers might be holding back for the Black Friday rush, a survey shows that an estimated 33 million people or 23 percent responding to the poll, concede that they’ll probably spend at least some time in stores on Thanksgiving. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dead at 87 Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page