Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 27, 2013

DELUCA: Giving thanks for some local success stories

Niagara Gazette — It's starting to happen for this city. And for that, on this day to give thanks, we should all be grateful.

Sometimes it helps to see the details collected in one spot to get a feel for the scope of change that just might be coming.

So, first let's look at what's already in place:

• The Niagara Falls Culinary Institute: I can't think of anything that's made me happier in the city this year. It's a showplace with three great restaurant options and a Barnes & Nobles. What more could a foodie ask for?

• The Niagara Falls International Airport: I know. The new airport's been open since 2009, but this year was the first year I flew in and out of the place two different times. It was a revelation to me with easy access and parking, no waiting at the security check and comfortable waiting areas.

• The Giacomo Hotel:  Again, old news, but the elegant residence and boutique hotel brings an upscale stability to downtown, along with the much-needed presence of humans.

Coming soon:

• The Rainbow mall expansion: Two respected developers, Uniland and Intertrust, have been selected to offer proposals to transform the remainder of the former Rainbow Centre — beyond the culinary institute. Their plans could create all sorts of exciting new attractions downtown. 

• The Hamister Hotel: The $25 million hotel deal offered by developer Mark Hamister, with the help of a $2.75 million state grant, finally fought its way through the City Council, and will result is a high end retail and residential facility providing much needed upscale hotel space. Construction should start this spring.

The Fallside Hotel: Developer Faisal Merani is continuing his campaign of renovating city hotels, including the Inn by the River and the Holiday Inn.  Next is the Fallside Hotel and Conference Center on Buffalo Avenue. Merani has obtained $2 million grant from Empire State Development Corp. and another $750,000 from USA Niagara — to help complete the $18 million renovation.  

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page