Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 27, 2013

DELUCA: Giving thanks for some local success stories

Niagara Gazette — It's starting to happen for this city. And for that, on this day to give thanks, we should all be grateful.

Sometimes it helps to see the details collected in one spot to get a feel for the scope of change that just might be coming.

So, first let's look at what's already in place:

• The Niagara Falls Culinary Institute: I can't think of anything that's made me happier in the city this year. It's a showplace with three great restaurant options and a Barnes & Nobles. What more could a foodie ask for?

• The Niagara Falls International Airport: I know. The new airport's been open since 2009, but this year was the first year I flew in and out of the place two different times. It was a revelation to me with easy access and parking, no waiting at the security check and comfortable waiting areas.

• The Giacomo Hotel:  Again, old news, but the elegant residence and boutique hotel brings an upscale stability to downtown, along with the much-needed presence of humans.

Coming soon:

• The Rainbow mall expansion: Two respected developers, Uniland and Intertrust, have been selected to offer proposals to transform the remainder of the former Rainbow Centre — beyond the culinary institute. Their plans could create all sorts of exciting new attractions downtown. 

• The Hamister Hotel: The $25 million hotel deal offered by developer Mark Hamister, with the help of a $2.75 million state grant, finally fought its way through the City Council, and will result is a high end retail and residential facility providing much needed upscale hotel space. Construction should start this spring.

The Fallside Hotel: Developer Faisal Merani is continuing his campaign of renovating city hotels, including the Inn by the River and the Holiday Inn.  Next is the Fallside Hotel and Conference Center on Buffalo Avenue. Merani has obtained $2 million grant from Empire State Development Corp. and another $750,000 from USA Niagara — to help complete the $18 million renovation.  

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents Obama Reassures Japan on China Raw: Car Crashes Into San Antonio Pool Time Magazine Announces Top Influencers List Raw: Angry Relatives Confront SKorea Officials Bigger Riders Means Bigger Horses Out West Yankees Pineda Ejected for Pine Tar Deadly Fungus Killing Bats, Spreading in US
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page