Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 4, 2012

EDITORIAL: Culinary credit is due

— Allow us to clear up a couple of things about the development of the city’s new culinary arts center.

Contrary to comments made during last week’s ribbon-cutting ceremony by Lt. Gov. Robert Duffy, prominent Republicans in Niagara
County weren’t always too keen on building the center inside the old Rainbow Centre Mall. In fact, several outright opposed
it at various points. 

 
That’s why we found it somewhat odd that Duffy went out of his way to praise the work of local Republicans, including state
Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, and state Assemblyman John Ceretto, R-Lewiston. It must have been some sort of pre-election,
cross-the-aisle, political gesture.

 
Had Duffy truly understood the dynamics of the project’s development, he would have known many prominent GOP members — Maziarz included — supported efforts to move the project elsewhere. 

 
Similarly, when he was a county lawmaker back in 2010, Ceretto joined other Republican lawmakers in questioning the Falls
move, with the assemblyman saying at the time that he needed “more information” before he could support the Falls plan.

 
His comments came at the same time Republican Clyde Burmaster was questioning the potential impact of a publicly financed,
student-run restaurant on private eateries in the city. Former county lawmaker Vince Sandanato, another member of the GOP,
strongly endorsed moving the project to the old Wendt’s dairy site in LaSalle. 

 
Yes, Ceretto and Sandanato finally did get on board and co-sponsor a resolution to advance the project in the legislature.
They also did so on Nov. 3, 2010 — one day after Ceretto was elected to the state assembly.  

 
We understand Democratic Gov. Andrew Cuomo wants to extend olive branches to state Republicans, but let’s not go overboard.
 
A lot of individuals worked hard to bring this project to life where it belongs — in the heart of Niagara Falls.

 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page