Niagara Gazette

Opinion

July 6, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Chance encounter solves roadside dilemma

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Gardeners — Many graduation observances include a poem about relationships titled “The House by the Side of the Road.” Ours came close. Here’s what happened.

Sunday we motored to Monroe County for Sierra’s high school graduation party. A generation ago her Mom, Kelly, along with sister Patti, lived across our street. Kelly, Patti and our Costly Daughter were triple-threat mischief-makers, now with robust families of their own. The parents, our contemporaries, are gone now.

The food was terrific, the music tolerable, the celebrants joyously loud, coming and going from simultaneous celebrations nearby. At the far end of the parking lot we thought we saw three kids grabbing a smoke, didn’t check the brand. That was as wild as it got.

“Of all the people here,” Kelly said, “you’re the only part of our past.” Can’t believe we used to yell at those kids. (Yes we can.) “It didn’t seem like it then,” we agreed, “but those were good times.” Hugs and tears.

We headed home by the road hardly traveled at all, the Lake Ontario Parkway, a/k/a the Boondoggle Bypass, from Rochester almost to Barker. We’ve seen more traffic at misers’ funerals. Part of it has shed its pavement, leaving one of those funhouse surfaces that you must be this tall to ride.

Dentures throbbing, we exited onto Route 18 and passed a farmhouse with a hand-written sign offering “Hostas, $3.50, 3 for $10, please don’t forget to pay,” moistly planted in sandwich bags.

Doug wouldn’t know a hosta from Bob Costa but Polly had been hunting them since June, once declining to pay $8 for a factory second. “Who wants to pay $8 for a half hosta,” she had asked.

Now, in hosta heaven, we rued slipping our last $10 to a graduate in Greece. All we had was $20s and a few singles. Except for a stone, the can was barren.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page