Niagara Gazette

Opinion

July 6, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Chance encounter solves roadside dilemma

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Gardeners — Many graduation observances include a poem about relationships titled “The House by the Side of the Road.” Ours came close. Here’s what happened.

Sunday we motored to Monroe County for Sierra’s high school graduation party. A generation ago her Mom, Kelly, along with sister Patti, lived across our street. Kelly, Patti and our Costly Daughter were triple-threat mischief-makers, now with robust families of their own. The parents, our contemporaries, are gone now.

The food was terrific, the music tolerable, the celebrants joyously loud, coming and going from simultaneous celebrations nearby. At the far end of the parking lot we thought we saw three kids grabbing a smoke, didn’t check the brand. That was as wild as it got.

“Of all the people here,” Kelly said, “you’re the only part of our past.” Can’t believe we used to yell at those kids. (Yes we can.) “It didn’t seem like it then,” we agreed, “but those were good times.” Hugs and tears.

We headed home by the road hardly traveled at all, the Lake Ontario Parkway, a/k/a the Boondoggle Bypass, from Rochester almost to Barker. We’ve seen more traffic at misers’ funerals. Part of it has shed its pavement, leaving one of those funhouse surfaces that you must be this tall to ride.

Dentures throbbing, we exited onto Route 18 and passed a farmhouse with a hand-written sign offering “Hostas, $3.50, 3 for $10, please don’t forget to pay,” moistly planted in sandwich bags.

Doug wouldn’t know a hosta from Bob Costa but Polly had been hunting them since June, once declining to pay $8 for a factory second. “Who wants to pay $8 for a half hosta,” she had asked.

Now, in hosta heaven, we rued slipping our last $10 to a graduate in Greece. All we had was $20s and a few singles. Except for a stone, the can was barren.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Chronicling crime on the 'Island' Why is Rick Pfeiffer never around when you need him? The guy whose cubicle we shared during the Koop-Jasen-Rice era at Channel 4 now carefully chronicles criminals for the Gazette, notably those a few flakes short of Raisin Bran, but his crime wave is a mere ripple compared to ours.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The mirrors of my grandfather's fingernails What we do or don't do will have a greater impact upon our grandchildren's futures than what you might think.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge US Supports Ukraine's Efforts to Calm Tensions Suspect in Kansas Shootings Faces Murder Charges Ukraine: Military Recaptures Eastern Airport Raw: Storm Topples RVs Near Miss. Gulf Coast NASA Showcases Lunar Eclipse Pistorius Cries During Final Cross-Examination The Boston Marathon Bombing: One Year Later Michael Phelps Set to Come Out of Retirement First Women Move to Army Platoon Artillery Jobs Sex Offenders Charged in Serial Killings Police: Woman Stored Dead Babies in Garage OC Serial Murder Suspects May Have More Victims Family: 2 Shot in Head at Kan. Jewish Center Raw: Horse Jumping Inspires 'Bunny Hop' After Attack, Officials Kill 5 Bears in Florida Popular Science Honors Year's Top Inventions ND Oil Boom Attracting Drug Traffickers
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page