Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 15, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Justice meted out to dictators -- eventually

Niagara Gazette — On Sept. 1, 1939, bold headlines announced, “Germany Invades Poland.” I was 12 and asked my dad: “Is that bad?” He solemnly replied, “Yes, that is very bad.” Thus began the deadliest conflict in history, World War 11, involving most of the world’s nations.

Isolationists delayed United States’ participation while Britain and France endured the brunt of Nazi bombings and land and sea attacks.

Then, on Dec. 7, 1941, Japan’s air force bombarded the U.S. naval base at Pearl Harbor, Hawaii, killing thousands and sinking many of our warships. Caught off-guard, we were ill-prepared for all-out war. The next day, President Franklin D. Roosevelt delivered his famous “Day of Infamy” speech and war was declared upon Japan. Then Nazi Genriany and Fascist Italy declared war upon the U.S. and proceeded to conquer most of Europe and North Africa, while Japan conquered much of the Westem Pacific. The U.S. quickly mobilized while its defense plants and shipyards got busy.

Six years later, it was over. Adolf Hitler was dead, a suicide, along with his mistress and most of his henchmen. Others were convicted as war criminals. Japanese warlord Tojo was among those executed. Mussolini and his mistress were assassinated and publicly hung by their heels. Russia’s dictator Stalin reportedly died of a stroke.

They were responsible for the suffering and deaths of millions, including their own people. How we shuddered upon hearing their names at the peaks of their power. If thev had been stopped earlier. thinizs would have been different.

It must have been the same with Nero and the Caesars, Alexander the Great, Genghis Kahn, Attila the Hun, Napoleon, and all of the conquering megalomaniacs throughout history. Massive annies and followers adored them and were willing to die for them. China’s Mao Zedong caused the death of millions. One nation’s hero is another’s tyrant.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Tourists attracted here by history, beauty, politics As my friend and colleague, writer Don Glynn has so artfully portrayed over the decades, "For many years after the dawn of aviation, U.S. presidents visiting Western New York started at the Niagara Falls Airport. The reason: The main runway here was longer than that of the Buffalo airport and could easily accommodate Air Force One, the presidential aircraft."

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Experience Center vital to tourism here From time immemorial, Niagara tourism leaders have expounded on the need for a first-class orientation center to showcase our assets for the millions of annual visitors here.

    July 23, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Scheer, Mark mug CITY DESK: Hobel will be missed

    Lost in all the hoopla surrounding last week’s announced retirement of state Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, was the loss of another well-known figure in local government and politics.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: More pastors, a new church and more of everything Before I go further back in time, I want to just go back to last week where I took my own advice and spent a couple of hours at the Como, where I enjoyed one of their traditional "parade of bowls and plates of great salads, pasta and meat dishes" and listened to longtime friends of Tom Darro roast him with humor, accolades and best wishes. And best of all no one who came to the microphone mentioned garbage totes or carts. It was a welcome relief.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Time is of the essence in Maziarz probe Voters in the 62nd district and elsewhere across the state deserve the ability to make an educated decision about any candidates who take money from Maziarz while he still has the ability to dole it out.

    July 21, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Border Patrol chief examines deadly acts A former Buffalo police chief now has the formidable task of reviewing cases where border agents have used deadly force.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Nostalgia for nostalgia: Where will it end? Not only has there been a huge nostalgia boom in America, but we're now getting to the point where there's much nostalgia for nostalgia! Maybe signifying that nostalgia will wear itself out, or, as in the old adage, that it ain't what it used to be?

    July 20, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Barracks site solved -- let's get something else moving The New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation heard the community loud and clear this time.

    July 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Driven to distraction by recent incidents For reasons best left unexplained, Doug drives home from Niagara Falls at twilight many nights, usually alone. It's about 10 miles, 15 minutes, from pressbox to driveway. He exits I-190 at the Beaver Island ramp, hugging its right edge in deference to any mainstream traffic, which would be coming downhill from the left at a 140-degree angle.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel Clinton: "AIDS-Free Generation Within Our Reach" Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page