Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 8, 2013

GLYNN: Is state parks taking on too much?

Niagara Gazette — No one should look a gift horse in the mouth.

In a word, don’t let anyone know that you wished for more by assessing the value.

Take the announcement by Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo that Gallagher Beach in Buffalo may become another state park. At last count, New York has 179 state parks and 37 historic sites. The crown jewel, most people agree, is the Niagara Falls State Park, the nation’s oldest such park.

Since the 1950s the Niagara Frontier Transportation Authority has owned that valuable Buffalo waterfront stretch including the beach, the Small Boat Harbor with about 1,000 slips, and the grassy area between the two areas. NFTA has been criticized for decades for generally ignoring that asset which many other cities would “die for,” as the governor said Thursday during another stopover in the Queen City.

Under the plan, the waterfront land will be transferred to the Albany-based state Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation. The NFTA will turn over the Small Boat Harbor to the parks agency in 2015. The move would undoubtedly add to the burden of the parks department’s western district that now covers the Niagara, Genesee and Allegany regions. The district headquarters is in Prospect Park here.

Talk to people familiar with the financially-strapped state parks agency and you’ll hear a common reaction to the governor’s announcement: “Why are they giving this (land) to the state parks? They can’t take care of the parks they have now.” That was made evident a couple of years ago when the regional state parks commission leased parklands to area municipalities (e.g. Joseph Davis State Park to the Town of Lewiston; Woodlawn Beach — to the Town of Hamburg; and Knox Farm State Park to Town of Aurora) because they couldn’t afford to maintain them.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Opinion sig GUEST VIEW: How the military operation in Gaza should be finished

    Shortly the nations of the world will increase their efforts to bridge the gap between Israel and the Hamas terrorist organization in order to bring about a cease-fire and to stop military maneuvers through political channels.    

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Imperfect information and the political toilet seat Sometimes, in the multiple choices of life, the answer is quite simply 'E', "Not enough information to draw a conclusion."

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Police need to move past use of 'negro' The Lockport Police Department raised some eyebrows this week after posting a question on its Facebook page about the use of the word "negro" to describe suspects.

    August 1, 2014

  • GUEST VIEW: Stop the violence by giving kids something to do A reason for all of the shootings that have plagued our city is because our kids have nothing to do. We have taken away all the basketball courts throughout the city.

    August 1, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page