Niagara Gazette

Opinion

August 19, 2013

It takes a village to put on Lewiston Art Fest

Niagara Gazette — “Best Ever!” I heard it over and over throughout the weekend. Perfect weather, record crowds, wonderful and varied artists and a relaxed and family friendly ambience made for an exceptional festival experience in Lewiston last weekend.

The Lewiston Art Festival is supported by an amazing group of staff, board members and volunteers — too numerous to thank each one. A special thank you goes to those board members and friends who gave us their weekend; Carrie Veltri who ran art activities at the Modern ArtZone, Liz Kovacs who catered a lovely VIP luncheon and Elizabeth Davis and Claudia Marasco who took the early 5 a.m. shifts on the street on Saturday. Thanks also to Fay Northrop and her volunteer crew for another amazing KeyBank Chalk Walk event and the committed teachers and imaginative students who created spectacular interpretations of the theme “Forces of Nature: Earth, Air, Fire & Water.” It took scores of volunteers (scheduled by Gene Kulbago, Pat McDonald and Dale Williamson) working behind the scenes to make the event run smoothly and we appreciate the time they all gave.

A special thanks to the Lewiston businesses that help us to make the artists feel welcome. Orange Cat opened early to provided coffee service during the Saturday morning set up and Tin Pan Alley hosted all the artists at the Sunday Awards Breakfast. Many artists expressed their appreciation for the hospitality. The growth of College Alley required a change in location and the Frontier House parking lot was the perfect setting, made possible by the Hastings family.

Year-round planning, fundraising, and marketing of all of our events is made possible by the financial support of the Town of Lewiston, Village of Lewiston, and many WNY corporations. Special thanks to Supervisor Reiter and Town Board members Bax, Marra, Palmer and Winkley for the sustained support that has made our growth possible. In particular our festival sponsors made this year one of the best art festivals ever.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page