Niagara Gazette

Opinion

August 19, 2013

HIGGS: Number of schools in LaSalle grows

Niagara Gazette — I was not able to find out what happened to the former Cayuga Drive School in time for last week’s deadline but Teresa Lasher-Winslow came to the rescue later that week. The school was closed in 1976 and sold to a developer for $14,000. It was demolished and replaced by private residential building lots currently occupied by single-family housing. The original Niagara No. 4 was moved from that site back in 1909 and is still located on 88th Street and Mang Avenue. Terry is trying to locate the original plaque from No. 4 District School 1909. She has the photo but the plaque is missing. Does anyone know where this may be?

Terry has been active in collecting and relating the history of LaSalle to the public. She held a lecture series last year and covered a lot of territory and noted there is a display of former LaSalle schools this summer on the second floor of the LaSalle Library.

Moving along to the late 1940s, I found an article in the March 1948 Gazette which stated that Howard Stone of the board of education studied the cost of moving students throughout the LaSalle section of the city. He determined the one-year cost would be $37,000 for school year 1948-49 or $5.06 per pupil per month and felt this warranted building new schools closer to the growing populations. On April 7, 1948, an election was held to vote on construction of two elementary schools; one at 93rd and Colvin Boulevard in the former Griffon Manor area of LaSalle and another at Lindbergh Avenue between 79th and 80th streets.

Seventy-ninth and 93rd street schools were completed in 1950 and were the first new schools built since 1931. The finished buildings were identical in modern design and function. Seventy-Ninth Street School, a two-story brick building with 22 classrooms, an auditorium, gymnasium and pool was completed at a cost of $992,996 which included the land, building and equipment. Ninety-Third Street School was identical in construction and size and the cost was $1,018,162. These two schools were the pioneers in the establishment of an on premises school library with a full-time librarian.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page