Niagara Gazette

Opinion

August 18, 2013

SINGER: Lefty: From Porter Cup to U.S. Open?

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — Thankfully, he pried one major monkey off his back after another–winning three coveted Masters, one PGA, and finally, this summer of 2013, a British Open! Odd how it all came together at the latter–he’d first gotten over jet lag and warmed up in the U.K.’s cool north by winning the Scottish Open. And then at the British, Phil thankfully eluded the horrid, Norman-like position of leading after three rounds, going into the final day with expectations mounting vertiginously. Instead, poor Lee Westwood was peppered with the usual questions (another fine golfer awaiting a major), and then with crowd pressures on the final day.

Very conveniently, Mickelson at five shots back, and teeing off before the half-dozen or so ahead of him in the hunt, felt he could go for broke in the last round, and be somewhat the gambler, emerging from the weeds like Arnold or Stallone in an old action flick.

Which he did marvelously, and right to the end, even threading the needle by perilous traps at eighteen, curling his approach to about ten feet, and then draining one last putt for birdie–no half-way measures for him that fine day at Muirfield. All Mickelson did was fire a gaudy 66 to win by three, the only player in the field to break par in the 2013 Open.

He’d now won a fifth major and it was great to see. Am I making invidious comparisons here with Tiger? No way. Woods and Mickelson have been and remain the iconic American golfers of their era; but Tiger is definitely the tougher of the two, thanks in part to a strong father, who used to throw things at his kid while he was swinging to prepare him for the rigors of pro golf and what became massive, future stardom.

Sometimes there’s justice, right? Now if only Mickelson could quiet down that U.S. Open crowd, start from well behind in next year’s final round, and ...

Or does he have anything left to prove?

B.B. Singer has taught at several colleges in the area, including Niagara University.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Opinion sig GUEST VIEW: How the military operation in Gaza should be finished

    Shortly the nations of the world will increase their efforts to bridge the gap between Israel and the Hamas terrorist organization in order to bring about a cease-fire and to stop military maneuvers through political channels.    

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Imperfect information and the political toilet seat Sometimes, in the multiple choices of life, the answer is quite simply 'E', "Not enough information to draw a conclusion."

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Police need to move past use of 'negro' The Lockport Police Department raised some eyebrows this week after posting a question on its Facebook page about the use of the word "negro" to describe suspects.

    August 1, 2014

  • GUEST VIEW: Stop the violence by giving kids something to do A reason for all of the shootings that have plagued our city is because our kids have nothing to do. We have taken away all the basketball courts throughout the city.

    August 1, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page