Niagara Gazette

Opinion

August 18, 2013

GLYNN: Bolivian, age 123, tops Grand Island resident

Niagara Gazette — Frank Scheria of Youngstown (aka ‘The Mayor of Ashland Avenue’  in Niagara Falls) was livid when he read an newspaper article last month about the world’s oldest man.

“He’s not from Grand Island! “ Scheria snapped, “He’s from Ashland Avenue! He just happens to live now in a nursing home on the island. Scheria was talking about Salustiano Sanchez-Blazquez, 112 years old, according to the Guinness World Records Ltd. 

Scheria undoubtedly knows more about the Ashland Avenue area than any man alive, or so it seems. In fact, he supposedly told the feds years ago not to bother digging in that neighborhood because Jimmy Hoffa isn’t there.

But, you might say, the world’s-oldest-man issue became moot Friday when it was reported on ABC-TV’s “Good Morning America” (Ch. 7) that Carmelo Flores Laura, a Bolivia cattle and sheep herder, was born in 1890. That makes him 123, two years before the first Ferris wheel was introduced at the Chicago World’s Fair and decades before Scheria helped organize the annual Ashland Avenue reunion. 

Maybe at next year’s reunion, they can present Sanchez-Blazquez with the runner-up trophy.

•••

A NEW JOB: Chautauqua County Executive Greg Edwards, a Republican, has been named CEO of the Gebbie Foundation in Jamestown. Edwards launched his political career in 2005 when he was elected as the county executive, defeating Democrat Mark Thomas, now the western district director for the state Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation, based at Prospect Park in Niagara Falls. 

•••

STAYING IN TOUCH: A number of Niagara County residents note they have little opportunity to meet with their new member of Congress. Rep. Chris Collins ( R-Buffalo). Collins’ 27th district offices are in Williamsville and Geneseo.

Mindful of that shortcoming, Collins is attempting to reach out more to his Western New York constituents including having staffer members available Wednesday from 2 to 3:30 p.m. at the Youngstown Free Library, 240 Lockport St. (The Red Brick School). Collins said the staffers can help people with matters relating to Social Security benefits and Medicare coverage, veterans’ affairs, and information about the functions of the Small Business Administration.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page