Niagara Gazette

Opinion

May 5, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Guiding Community Development in the Falls

Niagara Gazette — Niagara Falls Community Development’s budget starts with you. It sounds like a slogan but it is true and we want to prove it. The 2014 Community Development Budget process has begun. We are starting early this year and adding new ways to start conversations with the public. Our citizens know what Niagara Falls needs to invest in. Your voice carries the most weight.

Our department manages approximately $2 million in U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development grant funds for activities ranging from housing and storefront rehabilitation to summer youth programs and homelessness prevention. With every dollar spent, our goal is to create better opportunities for home ownership and to strengthen our neighborhoods.

Applications for Niagara Falls Community Development funding programs are now available to the public as well as a new citizen participation survey, both in paper and online. We will use our website, Facebook, and Twitter as new tools to get the word out.

Four neighborhood workshops will be held throughout the city for face-to-face input. Purposefully, these are not traditional government meetings. It is a casual way to talk about issues and ideas in your neighborhood. Per federal law, the public will then get another chance to have their say at a public hearing and 30-day comment period in July before the action plan is sent to the city council for approval.

Here’s the breakdown:

• Applications Due: June 14

• How to get the application and citizen survey: Online at www.nf-cd.org, www.facebook.com/NiagaraFallsCD or at the Carnegie Building, 1022 Main St.

• Neighborhood Workshops:

May 21: 5:30 p.m. at Neighborhood Housing Services 479 16th St.

May 23: 6 p.m. at the Doris Jones Family Resource Bldg. 3001 9th St.

May 29: 5:30 p.m. at the LaSalle Public Library 8728 Buffalo Ave.

June 5: 5:30 p.m. at the Carnegie Building 1022 Main St.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page