Niagara Gazette

Opinion

May 4, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Expressing our condolences

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Readers – We’ve been spending way too much time in mortuaries recently, and sending out condolences. Larry Felser last weekend, then Andy Watkinson, neither particularly young, but both with a lot more to give.

Larry Felser. Doug always liked to joke that Larry Felser stole his job. Both applied at the Buffalo Evening News sports department at the same time. Larry got the job, Doug got hired, too, assigned to a task he knew nothing about. Actually, they’d recruited Larry pretty hard, from the Courier-Express. Ahhh, if only our professional sports teams could spot talent that well ...

While Larry was a sports department superstar, he was sincerely kind to Doug, who was shuffling papers on the night shift. We talked a lot about plays and books. He was a man of wide horizons. He could have done anything. Sports was fortunate for his having chosen that field.

He didn’t like baseball a lot, truth to tell, but the Bisons at the time were playing home games in Niagara Falls and Larry dutifully followed them. When the team moved, Larry gave Doug all his leftover bridge tokens.

The Courier’s Jim Baker, now retired in Boston, fiercely fought Larry for inside football. Competition was brutal and woe betide the poor doofus who got “scooped.” Yet such was Larry’s grace that Jim said on the phone the other day that he was “a wonderful man, and I miss him so much that I can hardly believe we’re having this conversation.”

Us, too. Godspeed. We’ve still got one of the tokens.

Andy Watkinson, gentle genius of finance, we knew mostly through Sharon Onevelo Watkinson of the Niagara University theater program. We visited a few times out of town and Doug remembers Andy enduring one of Doug’s rehearsals, the chore made bearable by the fact that Sharon was in the show, too, playing a role that could actually have been Andy himself.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page