Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 16, 2013

HAMILTON: It pays when fathers take their kids to school

Niagara Gazette — Tuesday is the day designated for fathers and other male role models to make an extra effort at being involved in young students’ education by taking them to their respective schools. And brothers, it will pay off in many ways.

Speaking from personal experiences, I was very, very active in my sons’ education, though one of my sons did not always welcome it — at first.

Young Kenneth, the younger of the two, would hang with dad for every minute that he could do so, but Christopher was a very different story. He is like his dad, content to spend most of the day alone. Kenneth’s Tiny Treasures’ day care center was a mile further down the road from his brother’s first grade classes at Hyde Park School and I would drop young Chris off first, and then take Kenneth to his day care.

But it broke my heart on the day that the 6-year-old Chris asked me to drop him off a block before his school, instead of right in front of it as I had always done. Sometimes I would, and at other times I would not. And though he wanted his appearance of independence, I stayed very involved in his education, helping them both with their homework and projects and attending nearly all of their parent-teacher conferences.

Both of my sons graduated from high school. Kenneth went on to the Pittsburgh School of the Arts, became a chef and is now the executive chef at the Talara Restaurant in downtown Baltimore.

Christopher, on the other hand, went into the hospitality business, working at both the Adams Mark and the Sheridan hotels in Buffalo and Niagara Falls, and is now managing client satisfaction at the Marriott in downtown Baltimore.

However, notwithstanding that when I visit Baltimore that I can both eat and sleep finely and cheaply, the greatest reward came when the independent Christopher was home for a visit and I was taking him out to dinner. As I drove toward the restaurant, Christopher looked at me and in a quiet, sincere voice, he said to me, to wit, “Dad, I just want to thank you for always being in Kenneth’s and my life. Most of my friends don’t even know their fathers, and I appreciate all that you have done.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page