Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 16, 2013

HAMILTON: It pays when fathers take their kids to school

Niagara Gazette — Tuesday is the day designated for fathers and other male role models to make an extra effort at being involved in young students’ education by taking them to their respective schools. And brothers, it will pay off in many ways.

Speaking from personal experiences, I was very, very active in my sons’ education, though one of my sons did not always welcome it — at first.

Young Kenneth, the younger of the two, would hang with dad for every minute that he could do so, but Christopher was a very different story. He is like his dad, content to spend most of the day alone. Kenneth’s Tiny Treasures’ day care center was a mile further down the road from his brother’s first grade classes at Hyde Park School and I would drop young Chris off first, and then take Kenneth to his day care.

But it broke my heart on the day that the 6-year-old Chris asked me to drop him off a block before his school, instead of right in front of it as I had always done. Sometimes I would, and at other times I would not. And though he wanted his appearance of independence, I stayed very involved in his education, helping them both with their homework and projects and attending nearly all of their parent-teacher conferences.

Both of my sons graduated from high school. Kenneth went on to the Pittsburgh School of the Arts, became a chef and is now the executive chef at the Talara Restaurant in downtown Baltimore.

Christopher, on the other hand, went into the hospitality business, working at both the Adams Mark and the Sheridan hotels in Buffalo and Niagara Falls, and is now managing client satisfaction at the Marriott in downtown Baltimore.

However, notwithstanding that when I visit Baltimore that I can both eat and sleep finely and cheaply, the greatest reward came when the independent Christopher was home for a visit and I was taking him out to dinner. As I drove toward the restaurant, Christopher looked at me and in a quiet, sincere voice, he said to me, to wit, “Dad, I just want to thank you for always being in Kenneth’s and my life. Most of my friends don’t even know their fathers, and I appreciate all that you have done.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page