Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 16, 2013

HAMILTON: It pays when fathers take their kids to school

Niagara Gazette — Tuesday is the day designated for fathers and other male role models to make an extra effort at being involved in young students’ education by taking them to their respective schools. And brothers, it will pay off in many ways.

Speaking from personal experiences, I was very, very active in my sons’ education, though one of my sons did not always welcome it — at first.

Young Kenneth, the younger of the two, would hang with dad for every minute that he could do so, but Christopher was a very different story. He is like his dad, content to spend most of the day alone. Kenneth’s Tiny Treasures’ day care center was a mile further down the road from his brother’s first grade classes at Hyde Park School and I would drop young Chris off first, and then take Kenneth to his day care.

But it broke my heart on the day that the 6-year-old Chris asked me to drop him off a block before his school, instead of right in front of it as I had always done. Sometimes I would, and at other times I would not. And though he wanted his appearance of independence, I stayed very involved in his education, helping them both with their homework and projects and attending nearly all of their parent-teacher conferences.

Both of my sons graduated from high school. Kenneth went on to the Pittsburgh School of the Arts, became a chef and is now the executive chef at the Talara Restaurant in downtown Baltimore.

Christopher, on the other hand, went into the hospitality business, working at both the Adams Mark and the Sheridan hotels in Buffalo and Niagara Falls, and is now managing client satisfaction at the Marriott in downtown Baltimore.

However, notwithstanding that when I visit Baltimore that I can both eat and sleep finely and cheaply, the greatest reward came when the independent Christopher was home for a visit and I was taking him out to dinner. As I drove toward the restaurant, Christopher looked at me and in a quiet, sincere voice, he said to me, to wit, “Dad, I just want to thank you for always being in Kenneth’s and my life. Most of my friends don’t even know their fathers, and I appreciate all that you have done.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Scheer, Mark mug CITY DESK: Hobel will be missed

    Lost in all the hoopla surrounding last week’s announced retirement of state Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, was the loss of another well-known figure in local government and politics.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: More pastors, a new church and more of everything Before I go further back in time, I want to just go back to last week where I took my own advice and spent a couple of hours at the Como, where I enjoyed one of their traditional "parade of bowls and plates of great salads, pasta and meat dishes" and listened to longtime friends of Tom Darro roast him with humor, accolades and best wishes. And best of all no one who came to the microphone mentioned garbage totes or carts. It was a welcome relief.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Time is of the essence in Maziarz probe Voters in the 62nd district and elsewhere across the state deserve the ability to make an educated decision about any candidates who take money from Maziarz while he still has the ability to dole it out.

    July 21, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Border Patrol chief examines deadly acts A former Buffalo police chief now has the formidable task of reviewing cases where border agents have used deadly force.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Nostalgia for nostalgia: Where will it end? Not only has there been a huge nostalgia boom in America, but we're now getting to the point where there's much nostalgia for nostalgia! Maybe signifying that nostalgia will wear itself out, or, as in the old adage, that it ain't what it used to be?

    July 20, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Barracks site solved -- let's get something else moving The New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation heard the community loud and clear this time.

    July 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Driven to distraction by recent incidents For reasons best left unexplained, Doug drives home from Niagara Falls at twilight many nights, usually alone. It's about 10 miles, 15 minutes, from pressbox to driveway. He exits I-190 at the Beaver Island ramp, hugging its right edge in deference to any mainstream traffic, which would be coming downhill from the left at a 140-degree angle.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Opinion sig CHEERS & JEERS: The best - and worst - of the week for July 19

    This paving season has been like no other thanks to a particularly rough winter.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Council, administrative hypocrisy, and that is the gospel truth If there isn't a walk-on resolution on the Niagara Falls City Council's upcoming last agenda before the August recess to change the zoning back to what it was prior to the South End Niagara Gospel Rescue Mission opening its hearts and doors, then the city council should just cease its hypocritical practice of even saying prayers before the meeting.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page