Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 16, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Get a massage on Wednesday, help find an RA cure

Niagara Gazette — At age 17, I was diagnosed with a severe autoimmune disease, Rheumatoid Arthritis.

RA destroys joints and tissues, and attacks organs of the body — the heart, eyes, lungs, liver. This disease changed my life completely. Extreme pain and swelling plagued my hands and feet. Writing in class became difficult and I could no longer be an athlete. Even after the diagnosis, the disease spread during my first year of college causing pain in my knees, hips, elbows, neck, shoulders, even the joints in my chest. I had to transfer to a different college, close to home in Niagara County.

The Arthritis Foundation was a constant source of help, providing me with the information I needed to learn about this unexpected change in my health. In appreciation of the tremendous help I received, I raised $11,000 for the Arthritis Foundation. I am also actively serving as a youth advocate, attending Congressional meetings in Washington D.C. to improve legislation on arthritis issues and speak out for the people of Western New York with arthritis.

Unfortunately, there is no cure. Yet. Imagining life without pain is still just a dream for me.

But the Arthritis Foundation is working to change that, and awarded a $100,000 Innovative Research grant to a SUNY Buffalo researcher.

I am 20 years old now and will continue doing what I can to help fight arthritis, for myself and others. As the Healing Hands for Arthritis Ambassador, I invite you to help others while enjoying a treat for yourself. The Arthritis Foundation has partnered with Massage Envy Spas to host a one‐day national event on Wednesday called Healing Hands for Arthritis.

For anyone who suffers from arthritis pain, the Arthritis Foundation endorses massage therapy as a way to alleviate arthritis discomfort. It can improve flexibility, hand grip strength, circulation and reduce stress and anxiety. If you would like to try a massage, you can while doing a good deed!

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Obama Tours Gyeongbok Palace Swimmer Michael Phelps Back in Competition Raw: Obama Lays Korean War Memorial Wreath Obama Leads Naturalization Ceremony in Seoul Calif. School Bus Crash Hurts Driver, 11 Kids Country Club for Exotic Cars Little Science Behind 'Pollen Vortex' Prediction US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page