Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 16, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Get a massage on Wednesday, help find an RA cure

Niagara Gazette — At age 17, I was diagnosed with a severe autoimmune disease, Rheumatoid Arthritis.

RA destroys joints and tissues, and attacks organs of the body — the heart, eyes, lungs, liver. This disease changed my life completely. Extreme pain and swelling plagued my hands and feet. Writing in class became difficult and I could no longer be an athlete. Even after the diagnosis, the disease spread during my first year of college causing pain in my knees, hips, elbows, neck, shoulders, even the joints in my chest. I had to transfer to a different college, close to home in Niagara County.

The Arthritis Foundation was a constant source of help, providing me with the information I needed to learn about this unexpected change in my health. In appreciation of the tremendous help I received, I raised $11,000 for the Arthritis Foundation. I am also actively serving as a youth advocate, attending Congressional meetings in Washington D.C. to improve legislation on arthritis issues and speak out for the people of Western New York with arthritis.

Unfortunately, there is no cure. Yet. Imagining life without pain is still just a dream for me.

But the Arthritis Foundation is working to change that, and awarded a $100,000 Innovative Research grant to a SUNY Buffalo researcher.

I am 20 years old now and will continue doing what I can to help fight arthritis, for myself and others. As the Healing Hands for Arthritis Ambassador, I invite you to help others while enjoying a treat for yourself. The Arthritis Foundation has partnered with Massage Envy Spas to host a one‐day national event on Wednesday called Healing Hands for Arthritis.

For anyone who suffers from arthritis pain, the Arthritis Foundation endorses massage therapy as a way to alleviate arthritis discomfort. It can improve flexibility, hand grip strength, circulation and reduce stress and anxiety. If you would like to try a massage, you can while doing a good deed!

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page