Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 11, 2013

GLYNN: College athletes should get a piece of the action

Niagara Gazette — Whenever there's talk about the millions of dollars that flow into coffers of major universities and colleges from their high-profile sports programs, the people largely responsible for that are often ignored.

They're the athletes who play a significant role in shaping that thriving fund-raising business. In the current issue of Time magazine, writer Sean Gregory makes a powerful argument that athletes at big-time football schools should get paid for their work.

Obviously smaller schools (e.g. Niagara, Canisius and St. Bonaventure) are not in a position — even if they did have football teams — to benefit from the lucrative television-rights deals. Take that 12-year, $3-billion pact the Pacific-12 Conference has signed with ESPN and Fox. Gregory notes that coaches, admissions offices and university alumni operations profit from the stars. But the college presidents, athletic directors and conference commissioners set the players' wages at zero. College officials are quick to point out that the players are amateur student-athletes (some would argue athlete-students) and their four-year scholarships valued at $100,000 is sufficient. Still, in a sense, the college brass could be accused of hypocrisy, suggests Charles Clotfelter, an economics professor at Duke University and author of "Big-Time Sports in American Universities."  He contends: "Universities are quick to lecture society, But here is a situation where we're not living up to our best selves."

The magazine article also points to a recent study showing that if college football operated under the same revenue sharing models as the National Football League, each of the 85 players on football scholarships with the Texas A&M Aggies should receive a paycheck of about $225,000 per year. That's only a fraction of what those guys on the field are making for the school.

•••

DIFFERENT SPIN: Some experienced marathon swimmers have been griping that Diana Nyad, who recently swam from Cuba to Florida, may have cheated by coming in contact with her crew's boat and violating other rules of international swim competitions. None of the complaints seem valid, however, according to experts on those rules.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Assessing Islander's accidental fame When Islander go ashore, we know how to behave, most of us. Now Wikipedia can add one Kara Dudley to its roster of notable Islanders, definitively a woman of her times.

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Opinion sig GUEST VIEW: How the military operation in Gaza should be finished

    Shortly the nations of the world will increase their efforts to bridge the gap between Israel and the Hamas terrorist organization in order to bring about a cease-fire and to stop military maneuvers through political channels.    

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Imperfect information and the political toilet seat Sometimes, in the multiple choices of life, the answer is quite simply 'E', "Not enough information to draw a conclusion."

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Police need to move past use of 'negro' The Lockport Police Department raised some eyebrows this week after posting a question on its Facebook page about the use of the word "negro" to describe suspects.

    August 1, 2014

  • GUEST VIEW: Stop the violence by giving kids something to do A reason for all of the shootings that have plagued our city is because our kids have nothing to do. We have taken away all the basketball courts throughout the city.

    August 1, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page