Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 4, 2013

GLYNN: Nyad tried double-crossing of Lake Ontario in '74

Niagara Gazette — When I heard the news flash on CNN, the first words that came to mind were "Finally! She made it. What a remarkable lady!"

It seemed for the next several hours everyone was talking about Diana Nyad, 64, who had completed her 110-mile swim from Cuba to Florida in 52 hours. And the first person to do so without a shark cage. She had failed in four earlier attempts, starting at age 28.

I first met her in August 1974, when she was in this area to prepare for a marathon swim. If things had worked out, she would have been the first person to make a double-crossing — north to south — of Lake Ontario. That's a 64-mile trip, from Toronto to Port Dalhousie, Ont., and back.

At that time, I had been working as a correspondent — called a stringer in that era — for the Toronto Globe & Mail. Many of the swimmers then launched their 32-mile lake crossing near the U.S. Coast Guard Station-Niagara,Youngstown or from Niagara-on-the-Lake on the Ontario side. 

Diana entered the water at 10:45 a.m. that late August night and arrived in Port Dalhousie at 4:20 a.m. the next day. She rested for about 16 minutes — official time allowed by English Channel swim rules that she observed — and resumed the arduous swim. But in two hours and five miles out from Dalhousie, she suddenly stiffened out and couldn't move. Her veteran trainer, Cliff Lumsdon, jumped in and pulled Nyad from the water.

She was depressed about that failure in 1974. Diana also was bitter, friends said, that no one had even offered her a single prize for her to even try the lake swim both ways. She thought that perhaps it was only because she was an American and that the Canadians didn't want to be upstaged. After all, it was a Toronto school girl, Marilyn Bell, 16, who had captured the country's attention in Sept. 9,1954, when she set set the record for swimming across the lake in 20 hours and 56 minutes. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page