Niagara Gazette

Opinion

August 24, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Traffic troubles at the bridge

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Traffic Hazards — The later it gets in the afternoon over here, the more we’re living the Eagles’ “Hotel California” — “You can check out, but you can never leave.” Had President Obama begun his tour here, Syracuse would still be waiting. Seniors sit in the Three Stooges Roundabout (under repair, for the record), tapping their apps as the Society Security deposits accumulate.

The big deal is the corduroy surface of the southbound South Bridge, also under repair, but supposedly only at night. As it is, traffic moves better when it’s closed than when it’s not.

To paraphrase another ‘70s verse, “They’re paving our bridge, and now it’s a parking lot.” Why is there never a Big Yellow Taxi when you need one?

Here’s what happens. When the crews sign off about 6 a.m., they leave the surface of the bridge leading off the Island rather bumpy — undulating, one of Doug’s favorite words, if only for the way it sounds. Mainland-bound motorists are directed to reduce speed to 45 mph.

Flustered by three speed-limit changes over the previous seven miles (65-55-65), drivers inexplicably snap to attention. The I-190 glows brake-pedal red. Mid-day traffic bounces along decently, but along about 3 p.m. volume starts to ramp up, no pun intended.

Traffic engineers preach that congestion is caused not by slow speeds, but by inconsistence, and soon southbound cars and trucks are lining up halfway “beyond Whitehaven,” which is to us as “The Big Blue Water Tower” is to Amherst. A Canadian chap we met in Niagara-on-the-Lake this week said that last Friday he was “blind-sided” by the backup and almost missed first pitch at the Bison game.

Their problem becomes our problem when Islanders, or Mainlanders who work here, head out southbound. Two tributaries feed the flow of the I-190 at the bridge, one from the parkway to Beaver Island and one down Grand Island Boulevard, the latter funneling through our Circle of Confusion.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page