Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 16, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Shedding light on a new Christmas tradition

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Merry-Makers — Look, nobody ever said we were Lewiston over here, or even Youngstown, and sometimes our eyes roll a little at the I-190 sign advising exit to the “Grand Island Business District,” which is actually spread all over the Island like birdseed.

Nonetheless, we evidently know how to parade and party even as winter’s chill gathers strength and when our Chamber of Commerce last year dared to throw a procession and a lighting contest, some 1,500 people showed up to make merry.

That was enough to inspire a sequel. The second “annual” Light up the Boulevard Electric Parade and Festival steps off next weekend, Saturday, Nov. 23 at 5:20 p.m.

That’s 20 minutes after the “Rudolph Run,” of a little more than half a mile, starting at Marston’s, the lawnmower-snowblower place at 1970 Grand Island Blvd., and winding up at the Chamber itself, which is tucked into a little plaza next to a nail shop at 2257 GIB. Precisely, it’s one kilometer, even within Doug’s range if he didn’t have a commitment elsewhere.

The fun starts Thursday at 6 with the judging of lighting displays. You’ve got to hand it to the Chamber for the effort alone, as our businesses are significantly diffuse, from Island Prescription and Theodore’s, providing heartburn and relief side by side in the shadow of the South Bridge, past Japanese-themed Serene Gardens (with what Doug believes is the region’s best fish fry), through to the legendary Kelly’s Country store on the north end.

The parade has quite a lineup for this time of year, 25 units to date but none, at least so far, from Fuccillo’s (imagine a Billy balloon). Two or three dance units will step lively and everybody must be Christmas-theme decorated. Because of the dark hour, paraders must curb the urge to distribute candy, trinkets and fliers among the route.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page