Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 15, 2013

HAMILTON: Purple Alzheimer's and black NFL players

Niagara Gazette — Thousands of retired professional National Football League players will receive a $765 million settlement for head injuries suffered during their years on the gridiron. Last month, current players were wearing the color pink to raise the level of awareness for breast cancer.

With what Business Insider reports as only 8 percent of the profits from the National Football League’s Pink Campaign going to the American Cancer Society for breast cancer research and cure, many critics wonder if the mega ‘nine-billion dollars in revenues’ NFL is actually doing more for the cure of cancer or more for their own bottom lines.

To me, it doesn’t matter. With a reported $4.5-million going to the cancer society, I am sure that it is much appreciated and will do some good. After all, the NFL is not a charity, and charity begins at home, not in the stadium. Here is no question that the awareness to breast cancer that pink-clad, 360-pound linemen brings to the public helps in other ways, too.

But of great irony to me is that with a very low, if any at all, breast cancer rate within their own professional players’ ranks, it makes me wonder why then has the NFL, and other sports teams where brain injuries are likely to occur, have done, in my humble opinion, little to raise the awareness of brain diseases.

I ask this because November is National Alzheimer’s Awareness Month, and the only NFL team of which I am aware that will be wearing the Alzheimer purple is the Minnesota Vikings; but they were going to bearing it anyway.

The web site Breastcancer.org reports that about 39,620 women in the U.S. were expected to die in 2013 from breast cancer, though death rates have been decreasing since 1989.

Alz.org, the National Alzheimer’s Association’s web site, reports that data from the National Center for Health Statistics of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), says that twice as many, 83,494, people died from Alzheimer’s disease in 2010, which was the last current year of statistics. Even then, it is largely believed that the disease is under reported.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Opinion sig GUEST VIEW: How the military operation in Gaza should be finished

    Shortly the nations of the world will increase their efforts to bridge the gap between Israel and the Hamas terrorist organization in order to bring about a cease-fire and to stop military maneuvers through political channels.    

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Imperfect information and the political toilet seat Sometimes, in the multiple choices of life, the answer is quite simply 'E', "Not enough information to draw a conclusion."

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Police need to move past use of 'negro' The Lockport Police Department raised some eyebrows this week after posting a question on its Facebook page about the use of the word "negro" to describe suspects.

    August 1, 2014

  • GUEST VIEW: Stop the violence by giving kids something to do A reason for all of the shootings that have plagued our city is because our kids have nothing to do. We have taken away all the basketball courts throughout the city.

    August 1, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page