Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 18, 2013

GLYNN: 2013 Masters winner played twice in the Porter Cup

Niagara Gazette — Craig Avery of Lewiston, a local developer and entrepreneur, was probably more excited than most area residents watching the breathtaking finish to the Masters Tournament.

Understandably it reached a fever pitch when Adam Scott nailed that 12-foot birdie putt at the second playoff hole to defeat Angel Cabrera. That stroke made Scott the first Australian to win the Masters. Overnight he became a hero in his homeland.

“It was great to watch him at that moment,” said Avery, who was host to Scott for the 1998 and 1999 Porter Cup tournaments at the Niagara Falls Country Club. In the first event, he tied for 18th; in the second, he tied for 20th among the entrants.

Avery and his wife Sally have some fond memories of that 18-year-old Aussie showing up that first summer without any place to stay. It’s a tradition for the NFCC members to offer housing to the young amateurs — mostly college students — competing in the annual tourney.

That summer, however, the housing committee was hard-pressed to find enough lodging for the influx. When the Averys heard of the need, they invited Scott to stay at their Lewiston Heights home, a short distance from the golf course.

Avery says he’ll always remember how calm and collected the young golfer was when he casually announced upon arriving in Lewiston that “they lost my bags on the connecting flight.” While Avery was stunned by the news, Scott didn’t appear the least bothered by the mixup. “His demeanor then (under the circumstances) was really impressive,” Avery added.

The Averys have also kept in touch with Scott’s parents, Phil and Pam, over the years. The father is involved in golf as well, as a builder and designer of courses.

The tourney champ in the family invited the Averys to the Masters Tournament several years ago, providing them with tickets. “I went to the event in Augusta in 2004 and Adam got us four passes,” said  Steve Denn, the Porter Cup director and a prime mover in its present-day success. “He’s really a class guy,” Denn said.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners Obama Greets Wounded Warriors Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Franco Leads Star-studded Broadway Cast Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page