Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 18, 2013

GLYNN: 2013 Masters winner played twice in the Porter Cup

Niagara Gazette — Craig Avery of Lewiston, a local developer and entrepreneur, was probably more excited than most area residents watching the breathtaking finish to the Masters Tournament.

Understandably it reached a fever pitch when Adam Scott nailed that 12-foot birdie putt at the second playoff hole to defeat Angel Cabrera. That stroke made Scott the first Australian to win the Masters. Overnight he became a hero in his homeland.

“It was great to watch him at that moment,” said Avery, who was host to Scott for the 1998 and 1999 Porter Cup tournaments at the Niagara Falls Country Club. In the first event, he tied for 18th; in the second, he tied for 20th among the entrants.

Avery and his wife Sally have some fond memories of that 18-year-old Aussie showing up that first summer without any place to stay. It’s a tradition for the NFCC members to offer housing to the young amateurs — mostly college students — competing in the annual tourney.

That summer, however, the housing committee was hard-pressed to find enough lodging for the influx. When the Averys heard of the need, they invited Scott to stay at their Lewiston Heights home, a short distance from the golf course.

Avery says he’ll always remember how calm and collected the young golfer was when he casually announced upon arriving in Lewiston that “they lost my bags on the connecting flight.” While Avery was stunned by the news, Scott didn’t appear the least bothered by the mixup. “His demeanor then (under the circumstances) was really impressive,” Avery added.

The Averys have also kept in touch with Scott’s parents, Phil and Pam, over the years. The father is involved in golf as well, as a builder and designer of courses.

The tourney champ in the family invited the Averys to the Masters Tournament several years ago, providing them with tickets. “I went to the event in Augusta in 2004 and Adam got us four passes,” said  Steve Denn, the Porter Cup director and a prime mover in its present-day success. “He’s really a class guy,” Denn said.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page