Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 17, 2013

BRADBERRY: Home, Sweet Home, more than an old saying

Niagara Gazette — I’ve said it before, and I say it again, I cannot know for certain what John Howard Payne was thinking when he wrote “Home Sweet Home” for his 1823 opera, “Clari, Maid of Milan,” but he, like Dorothy who uttered “There’s no place like home” in the 1939 “Wizard of Oz” and Motley Crue or Carrie Underwood when they crooned, “Home is where your heart is”, but surely they all must have had in mind the same heart felt sentiment we all feel when we think of that place we cherish as “Home.”

For me it is Niagara.

Sadly, anybody born and raised here who stayed behind unwittingly witnessed a region in steep decline; children born into this could not have known that what they were seeing was not normal, and most of the adults who suffered through it were helpless to do anything about it.

To many, decay became the norm, except on television, in the movies or in Florida, the Carolinas or out west in California, Arizona and Las Vegas where so many of their grandparents and other relatives had escaped to.

For this new crop of graduating students, the future could be a lot brighter, though they may be too young to appreciate it; our home town could be sitting on the precipice of prosperity unlike anything our children have ever seen here before.

It is difficult to see it unless you step back, put it all into perspective and have a tad of hope along with a healthy portion of faith and enough love to move mountains.

Of course, this requires vision, a virtue that not everyone is endowed with; some will never see, but some current and a growing parade of former Niagarans are seriously rethinking their moves.

Consider this:

• Real estate costs in the nether regions are creeping back up again, but ours not as much. We appear to have escaped the worst of the mess. In fact many houses which could be bought here for well under $100,000 or less sold for 10 times as much elsewhere; when the bubble burst, they fell in value to half as much or less leaving a lot of families upside down in debt over their heads, or homeless while the actual value of our homes remain relatively steady and affordable.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Chronicling crime on the 'Island' Why is Rick Pfeiffer never around when you need him? The guy whose cubicle we shared during the Koop-Jasen-Rice era at Channel 4 now carefully chronicles criminals for the Gazette, notably those a few flakes short of Raisin Bran, but his crime wave is a mere ripple compared to ours.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The mirrors of my grandfather's fingernails What we do or don't do will have a greater impact upon our grandchildren's futures than what you might think.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page