Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 16, 2013

CONFER: A baby killer gets a free pass

Niagara Gazette — I’m not what you would consider a sensitive guy, yet when I hear about the atrocities perpetuated by Dr. Kermit Gosnell I get a sick feeling in the pit of my stomach and nearly tear up.

The Pennsylvania abortionist is currently under trial, having been accused of conducting hundreds of illegal late-term abortions over a nearly 20-year period, tearing fetuses from the womb after 24 weeks or more. Twenty-four weeks sits smack dab in the middle of the grey area for viability. Thanks to the miracles of modern science, a preemie born at 24 to 26 weeks has a 53% chance of survival.

Those statistics — and the law — didn’t faze Gosnell.

Neither did the very essence of life.

Gosnell would actually kill babies who worn born alive and breathing. He would use scissors to snip their spinal cord, a horrific act of inhumanity that his staff said was accompanied by an unimaginable scream from the dying infants. Gosnell would then take that evil further, cutting the feet off of the babies and keeping them in jars like morbid trophies.

As unconscionable and frightening as Gosnell’s sustained disregard for precious life was, this is likely the first time that most of the readers of this paper have heard of the monster. The mainstream media, from daily newspapers to the Associated Press to broadcast news outlets — like CNN, Fox News and the 3 big networks — have mostly ignored the trial.

The limited coverage – or lack of thereof – normally wouldn’t be par for the course, as killing sprees as disgusting as this tend to overwhelm the news cycle. Think about how the Newtown Massacre dominated newscasts for weeks and how still, to this day, we hear references to the shootings that happened over 4 months ago. Even smaller scale events have gotten more attention – like the

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page