Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 15, 2013

HIGGS: There's lots left to do this April

Niagara Gazette — I am playing hooky this week and not writing about local landmark schools so I can talk about some things happening in April in our community.

The Beautify Niagara citywide cleanup campaign is now in the middle of signing up new volunteers and those who keep coming back each year to help the Niagara Beautification Commission keep Niagara Beautiful. The date is Saturday, April 20 and we will be meeting again at 8 a.m. at the Seneca Niagara Casino & Hotel “under the arch” on Fourth Street.

This is the eighth year they have been hosting the kickoff and we thank them for their hospitality. They provide a continental breakfast to start everyone off with a little energy. Our crew signs in previously registered volunteers and they receive bags and gloves for their group. Following a thank you from the mayor and a few words from the fire chief who serves as the honorary chair of the event and our new Niagara Beautification Commission Chair, Tom Lowe, everyone gathers in front of a fire truck for a photo op and then heads out to their designated spot.

Workers in the Highland Avenue area meet at the police substation resource center and the Highland Community Revitalization Corp. organizes that area assigning hot spots that need attention. Since we are fortunate to have two crews from the Niagara County Sheriff’s Work Force on that date, we usually assign one out there to do some of the heavy lifting. Joy Martin of the S. C. Martin Group, a local contractor provides a truck each year to cart big stuff away and drop off bags of mulch for them. May Nix and Betty Youngblood man the food counter at the resource center and serve a light breakfast and coffee for the workers. The volunteers who choose to work in LaSalle can come to the casino or meet at the Prince of Peace Church in LaSalle between 8 and 9 a.m. to pick up their bags and gloves.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page