Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 12, 2012

Fighting hospital infections a team effort

Niagara Gazette — In recent weeks, various media outlets have discussed the challenges being faced by hospitals trying to control outbreaks of a disease called Clostridum difficile.

We would like our community to understand some basics about this and other infections seen in the nosocomial (hospital) setting. We would also like to explain our approach to preventing the same at Mount St. Mary’s Hospital.

C. difficile, a common nosocomial infection, can cause symptoms ranging from diarrhea to life-threatening inflammation of the colon. It spreads as a spore which allows it to live in the environment for a long time and makes it difficult to disinfect. Illness from C. difficile frequently affects older adults in hospitals or in long term care facilities and typically occurs after use of antibiotic medications. In recent years many C. difficile infections have become severe and difficult to treat. Some resistant strains of the bacterium produce significant amounts of toxin and can cause critical illness.

Doctors have long been concerned that the overuse of antibiotics is making the treatment of bacterial infections more difficult. When bacteria are exposed to antibiotics, a few resistant strains may survive, reproduce and spread. In hospitals worldwide, including the US and Canada, there are infections that can only be treated with old and dangerous antibiotics or are completely resistant to antibiotic therapy altogether. In such a scenario, what is today a relatively mild illness such as appendicitis or a middle ear infection would carry a mortality risk similar to that seen before the discovery of penicillin. Alarmingly, a resistant bacterium can travel halfway around the world in less than a day with modern travel modalities.

What can we do? First, understand that viral infections will not respond to antibiotic therapy. Many flu-like illnesses that commonly occur are viral in nature. All that antibiotics will do in such a case is kill off many of the “good” bacteria that we all need in our digestive tract and will allow resistant bacteria (such as C. difficile) to spread. There is a resurgence of interest in the medical community regarding the protective role that these bacterial strains may play in our overall health.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page