Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 8, 2012

HAMILTON: Bad timing for Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas?

Niagara Gazette — Before most Americans began to earnestly look toward the Christmas season, we first salivate in contemplation of our November Thanksgiving. But our Canadian neighbors apparently are doing so soon after our mutual October Halloweens.

Yet, in a way, we both are doing the same thing at the same time.

How is that so? Two groups of people doing the same thing at different times, yet claiming we are doing the same thing at nearly the same time?

It’s simple.

The Nordic Canadians, with their much earlier national harvest season, their more severe national winters and their Florida being the Niagara Peninsula, celebrate their Thanksgiving in October, before the blizzards of late November hit.

But we poly-climatic Americans, whose contingent borders stretch from the Seaplane Base in Aroostook County, Me., to the end of Seacoast Drive in San Diego County, Calif., and from the Semiahmoo Marina near Bellingham, Wash. to the Ocean Reef Club Airport near Homestead, Fla. are still harvesting cotton, cabbages and citrus fruits well into November.

Despite that the two-official language Canadians and no official language Americans are likely more akin in culture to each other than even the Irish and the English, and we are still quite different from each other in so many ways.

We are on a continent that has three major languages, but we are more diverse than just in language, ethnicity, race, gender and all of the other things that we use to differentiate ourselves. We are different in both where we are and in what experiences that we have had during our lives. We grow up and do things based upon our experiences; and weather and climate are indeed experiences.

In Canada, it gets colder, faster and longer than in the US; and it does make sense that the Canadians are already preparing to celebrate the Christmas season right after Halloween? After all, there is no Thanksgiving between the two.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners Obama Greets Wounded Warriors Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Franco Leads Star-studded Broadway Cast Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page