Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 13, 2013

GUEST VIEW: In defense of the SPCA of Niagara board

Niagara Gazette — A court case, proposed by three individuals who have the benefit of a “free” lawyer, are opposing the legitimacy of the current structure of the SPCA of Niagara’s Board of Directors and proposed voting tiers.

First of all — I think it’s only fair to emphasize the unsung fortune of having professional individuals on the SPCA board of directors, keeping in mind that they do what they do voluntarily, and they do it very well.

Currently on the SPCA of Niagara board is President Bryan Barish who owns Allbreed Obedience Academy and is a full-time professional dog trainer with over 17 years of experience.

Assisting him on the board at the SPCA of Niagara is Dr. Susan Persico — a well-respected veterinarian who runs Central Park Hospital in Buffalo with her husband, veterinary surgeon, Dr. Franklin Latson. For the record, Dr. Latson is also the veterinarian/surgeon who has cared for the animals at the Aquarium of Niagara for well over a decade.

Dr. Susan Persico loves animals, and as a direct benefit of the love she and her husband have for animals, being a board member at our shelter is a blessing beyond measure. Animals are treated and nurtured with no charge regularly. Who better to be on our board than a qualified and respected veterinarian with a husband who is also a veterinary surgeon? Invaluable!

Additionally, Larry Eggert and Dave Bower are long-time police enforcement officials in the Niagara community — both animal lovers with no tolerance for abusers of the animals they serve to protect. In addition, Bower is very instrumental in planning and manning many fundraisers — and he enjoys doing this! Summer 2013 is already in the development phase of many fun events! Stay tuned!

As for the financial side, the SPCA now has two certified accountants on board. David Urban is the board treasurer and Michelle Madigan also serves as board secretary. In addition to full-time jobs, not to mention the stress during tax season at this time — they voluntarily put in 30-40 hours additional per week tending to SPCA record keeping, accounts payable and receivables. Add into the mix — on a shoestring budget — finding funds to become defendants in a lawsuit — more time and money away from the animals.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page