Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 11, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Council chairman responds to recent coverage

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — The Gazette editorial writer made a telling admission by writing “The folks in Buffalo, the ones with money and influence who run things …” Is this what it’s all about? The man with the most money gets to call the shots, influence business and embarrass our city government? Where was the Gazette editorial writer in January 2008 when Mayor Dyster accepted funds from unidentified “powerful people with money who run things” to help him run our city government? Editor’s note: The issue actually came to a head later in 2008 and was jeered on the opinion page on Nov. 27, 2008“Paying city officials out in the open.”

The Gazette and others have accused the “council majority” of standing in the way of the administration and of obstructing progress. I think that accusation is grossly unfair.

The council questioned the construction cost of the train station and got accused of being confused on the train station project. Does the Gazette — or anyone — understand the funding of the train station project at this point in time? Editor’s note: The issue was last covered here: “Council confused on train station funding?” published Oct. 17, 2012 and here: “Train talk continues” published on Oct. 25, 2012

We questioned the cost of the study to connect John Daly Boulevard to Pine Avenue and were called obstructionists who couldn’t grasp the project’s goals: never mind that the project was more than 10 years old and has gone nowhere for the last six years. Is the Gazette aware (if not why not?) that the city has been warned that it’s in danger of losing John Daly Boulevard project funding due to the city’s indecisiveness? — Editor’s note: Yes, here’s the latest story: “Consultant for John B. Daly extension to Pine shot down by council” published Jan. 28, 2013

Our municipal building is draining the city’s finances, Lewiston Road is a “mess,” LaSalle Waterfront Park ran over budget (no one knows why), we’re spending $230,000 on a parks study, the Underground Railroad Center is mysteriously behind schedule with one of the contractors suing the city and there’s a 2014 budget crisis coming that will make last year’s budget problems look like a picnic.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Popeye's '7-Minute' guide to educating southerners -- and me! Writer Mark Twain said that when he 14, his father was so ignorant that he could hardly stand to have the old man around. But upon turning 21, Twain said that he was astonished by how much his father had learned in just seven years.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bianco mug 072514 GUESTVIEW: Business First ranking casts Falls in a new light There are those in the community who like to cite Business First's annual rankings of school districts and speak unfavorably about Niagara Falls' low standing.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • CHEERS AND JEERS: The best --Â and worst -- of the week of July 25 It sure sounds like the Buffalo Bills really will be "Living on a Prayer" as far as Western New York is concerned if the team is purchased by the prospective ownership group that includes rocker Jon Bon Jovi.

    July 25, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Wegmans call warns of bad fruit I was humming to myself the other day, getting ready for work on a lovely summer morning, when I decided to check my messages on the house phone. I hit the play button and heard a message from Wegmans warning me about some fruit that I had bought at their store. As quick as that, a message with the scary potential to change my life or the life of someone I love.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Ortt jumps on drive to repeal the SAFE Act It was a no-brainer for North Tonawanda Mayor Rob Ortt, a Republican candidate for the 62nd Senate District seat, to join the forces to repeal the state's SAFE Act.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Delaying refuse law really just makes situation worse It's obvious the rollout of the city's new refuse and recyclables collection program has caused confusion and consternation among some city residents and business owners.

    July 24, 2014

  • NIA Giannetti, Robert mug 072414 GUEST VIEW: Village of Lewiston parking issues related to Artpark need to be addressed On Artpark nights, the South Fourth Street area and many other parts of the Village of Lewiston are covered with pop-up parking lots on residential lawns that operate in spite of existing zoning laws prohibiting commercial activity.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Tourists attracted here by history, beauty, politics As my friend and colleague, writer Don Glynn has so artfully portrayed over the decades, "For many years after the dawn of aviation, U.S. presidents visiting Western New York started at the Niagara Falls Airport. The reason: The main runway here was longer than that of the Buffalo airport and could easily accommodate Air Force One, the presidential aircraft."

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Experience Center vital to tourism here From time immemorial, Niagara tourism leaders have expounded on the need for a first-class orientation center to showcase our assets for the millions of annual visitors here.

    July 23, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page