Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 11, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Council chairman responds to recent coverage

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — The Gazette editorial writer made a telling admission by writing “The folks in Buffalo, the ones with money and influence who run things …” Is this what it’s all about? The man with the most money gets to call the shots, influence business and embarrass our city government? Where was the Gazette editorial writer in January 2008 when Mayor Dyster accepted funds from unidentified “powerful people with money who run things” to help him run our city government? Editor’s note: The issue actually came to a head later in 2008 and was jeered on the opinion page on Nov. 27, 2008“Paying city officials out in the open.”

The Gazette and others have accused the “council majority” of standing in the way of the administration and of obstructing progress. I think that accusation is grossly unfair.

The council questioned the construction cost of the train station and got accused of being confused on the train station project. Does the Gazette — or anyone — understand the funding of the train station project at this point in time? Editor’s note: The issue was last covered here: “Council confused on train station funding?” published Oct. 17, 2012 and here: “Train talk continues” published on Oct. 25, 2012

We questioned the cost of the study to connect John Daly Boulevard to Pine Avenue and were called obstructionists who couldn’t grasp the project’s goals: never mind that the project was more than 10 years old and has gone nowhere for the last six years. Is the Gazette aware (if not why not?) that the city has been warned that it’s in danger of losing John Daly Boulevard project funding due to the city’s indecisiveness? — Editor’s note: Yes, here’s the latest story: “Consultant for John B. Daly extension to Pine shot down by council” published Jan. 28, 2013

Our municipal building is draining the city’s finances, Lewiston Road is a “mess,” LaSalle Waterfront Park ran over budget (no one knows why), we’re spending $230,000 on a parks study, the Underground Railroad Center is mysteriously behind schedule with one of the contractors suing the city and there’s a 2014 budget crisis coming that will make last year’s budget problems look like a picnic.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Opinion sig GUEST VIEW: How the military operation in Gaza should be finished

    Shortly the nations of the world will increase their efforts to bridge the gap between Israel and the Hamas terrorist organization in order to bring about a cease-fire and to stop military maneuvers through political channels.    

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Imperfect information and the political toilet seat Sometimes, in the multiple choices of life, the answer is quite simply 'E', "Not enough information to draw a conclusion."

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Police need to move past use of 'negro' The Lockport Police Department raised some eyebrows this week after posting a question on its Facebook page about the use of the word "negro" to describe suspects.

    August 1, 2014

  • GUEST VIEW: Stop the violence by giving kids something to do A reason for all of the shootings that have plagued our city is because our kids have nothing to do. We have taken away all the basketball courts throughout the city.

    August 1, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page