Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 10, 2013

GLYNN: Assembly puts hydrofracking on hold

Niagara Gazette — ‘Water, water, everywhere ...’ 

Is there really that much? Everyday we’re swamped with stories about hydrofracking and widespread concerns that the process is unsafe and a potential threat to our environment.

Proponents have argued that hydrofracking will create countless jobs, especially for the economically-depressed upstate communities. Opponents contend that drilling and fracking could lead to polluting the streams and

groundwater.

No one seems to ever mention, however, the sheer amount of water that would be consumed. Mostly we’re simply told the process uses a mixture of chemicals, sand and highly pressurized water to smash the shale — thousands of feet below the surface — to extract natural gas. 

How much water? Our Ohio neighbors estimate that as much as 5 million gallons per well are needed to break up their Utica shale and release the natural gas trapped underground. One official said that if every well in Carroll County is drilled, companies will use some 805 million gallons of water to free the gas and oil. The Buckeye State also estimates that upward of 2,250 wells could be drilled there by the end of 2015. 

A Dayton Daily News article notes that 2010 records in Carroll County showed that residents, farms and businesses drew 378 million gallons of water from the ground, lakes and streams.

For the record, hydraulic fracturing in New York may not become a reality for some time yet, if ever, based on the state Assembly vote Thursday, 95-40, approving a two-year moratorium so vital health impact studies may be completed. State Sen. David Carlucci of the Independent Democratic Conference proposed a similar two-year ban earlier in the week but its support remains unclear since the IDC shares power with the Senate Republicans. The GOP has tended to favor the gas drilling plan.

Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver told reporters that although the majority Democratic conference is eager to address the economic problems upstate, it is important to make certain that fracking will not pose risks to human health or the environment. Thus, the moratorium is appropriate until the impact studies are finished, he added.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Assessing Islander's accidental fame When Islander go ashore, we know how to behave, most of us. Now Wikipedia can add one Kara Dudley to its roster of notable Islanders, definitively a woman of her times.

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Opinion sig GUEST VIEW: How the military operation in Gaza should be finished

    Shortly the nations of the world will increase their efforts to bridge the gap between Israel and the Hamas terrorist organization in order to bring about a cease-fire and to stop military maneuvers through political channels.    

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Imperfect information and the political toilet seat Sometimes, in the multiple choices of life, the answer is quite simply 'E', "Not enough information to draw a conclusion."

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Police need to move past use of 'negro' The Lockport Police Department raised some eyebrows this week after posting a question on its Facebook page about the use of the word "negro" to describe suspects.

    August 1, 2014

  • GUEST VIEW: Stop the violence by giving kids something to do A reason for all of the shootings that have plagued our city is because our kids have nothing to do. We have taken away all the basketball courts throughout the city.

    August 1, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page