Niagara Gazette

Opinion

July 8, 2013

HIGGS: One door closes, another opens

Niagara Gazette — Plans were brought to life for the May 6, 1988, open house at Trott Vocational High School. This was an idea of Lynn Weed Perry who graduated in 1972 and she formed a committee with Helen Kress as chairman. The event drew a crowd of former students and faculty and everyone shared memories. 600 balloons, 10 for each of the 60 years of Trott Vocational High School were sent aloft at the end of the evening by former students, faculty, administrators and friends of Trott.

The open house was followed by a dinner dance on July 31, 1988, to celebrate the 60th anniversary of Trott Vocational. General chairman was Lynn Weed Perry with John Beltrano as program chairman and Roger Spurback, chairman of the program book. It was held at the American Legion Portage Post, where all important events geared to draw a large crowd were held. The evening began with cocktails followed by a possession to the head table of dignitaries and speakers. Nick Zawicki sang “God Bless the U.S.A.” and Weed Perry began with a welcome. City Councilman Anthony Quaranto was toastmaster and a moment of silence followed in memory of deceased Trott students and faculty. The Invocation was presented by Robert Bradley, Jr. from St. John A.M.E Church. Mayor Michael O’Laughlin read a city proclamation and John Beltrano read the Chronology of Trott. Remarks followed from William Sdao, superintendent of Schools. “Eventful Years” 60 Years of Memories were presented by Rodger Hailey, Donald MacKender, Arthur Calendrelli and Willie Cheeley. Past principals spoke about their years at Trott and the Benediction was followed by “Niagara on The Move” performed by Nick Zawicki. Dancing followed until midnight.

Credit is given to former Gazette reporter Mary Wozniak for her factual article dated June 5, 1988, for much of the information for the articles on Trott. James Trott’s building lives on with different kinds of community service now located inside but those who attended the vocational school will always think of it as “their school”.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page