Niagara Gazette

Opinion

July 7, 2013

SINGER: Flinging them like Sal 'The Barber'

Niagara Gazette — The LA Dodgers-Arizona Diamondbacks dust-up earlier this season occurred over pitchers putatively throwing at hitters (and of course a significant difference between NL and AL is that in the former league, an opposing pitcher who buzzed your guys has to bat himself, rather than be replaced at the plate by a designated hitter). Which is what led to this brawl and the commissioner’s penalties.

Back in the day, hitters whining about tight pitches would have been considered crazy, and fair game for more mistreatment, because when I was growing up, this was part of the game. One noted fear-inducer on the mound hailed from and was well known in these parts, and is memorialized by the local stadium named after him. I’m obviously talking of Sal “the Barber” Maglie, called that of course because he shaved hitters with his pitches, not because he gave good haircuts.

After his fine year for Brooklyn in 1956, I was lucky to watch Maglie hook up in the World Series against the Yanks’ Don Larsen and pitch admirably, losing of course to Larsen’s famed perfect game. After which, Yogi leapt iconically into Larsen’s arms. This must have been a weekend game on TV, otherwise school would have intervened and prevented this kid from seeing that pitchers’ duel and ultimately, a perfect game few expected from a rather goofy, unsung Larsen. (I should explain for the young who may not know that all Series games were held in the day back then.)

The great “headhunter” who followed for the Dodgers was Don Drysdale, a huge, blond guy on the mound, and scary as heck to hitters due to his speed, sidearm motion, and propensity for sticking high-speed baseballs in batters’ ribs. Making them bail out next time, and his job easier? No question. Even the top hitters of his era, like Hall of Famer Hank Aaron, had to fight their fear, which Aaron courageously did, eventually getting quite a few homers off “Dandy Don.” But Aaron has also recalled that he’d rather go to the dentist than bat against Drysdale, and many other lesser hitters were defeated by Big D’s fear-inducing comportment on the mound.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page